RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Bus Bars - 150A rated ok?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Bus Bars - 150A rated ok?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
phemens

Montreal, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 09:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have 500AH battery (LIFePO4) and a 3000 watt Samlex inverter. Wiring is all going through bus bars. I made an order to get new ones, received Blue Seas 4 post rated at 150 amps. I thought I had ordered rated at 250 amp. Question is, do I really need to go to 250 amp (return and re-order) - what's my risk? Real world high draw use is occasional microwave, coffee maker, etc.

Other question is, I originally had 4x100 AH batteries all wired with 00 gauge welding wire. To add the new 5th one (bought within a few months of the others), I have some spare 0000 wire to make the cable (all wiring from batteries to bus bar is same length), ok to use or do I really need to find some 00 to make everything uniform?


2012 Dutchman Denali 324LBS behind a 2006 Ford F-250 V10 out of Montreal
1 DW, 1 DD, 1 DS, 2 HD (Hyper Dogs)
1Kw solar, 500 AH LIFePO4, Yamaha EF2000 gen, Samlex 3000w Inverter

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 08/28/19 09:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Remember that business with the fuses, where the total of all the various branch ampacities to the bus bar has to be equaled by the ampacity of the single main fat wire from the bus bar.

So obviously the bus bar itself has to have that total ampacity too.

Can't say about the fifth battery wiring. Lost track of that.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
See Profile for House electronics set-up.

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 09:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Depends on the voltage. Some mfrs recommend paralleling only 4 max. Is that your case?

Assuming 12v, only the inverter connections need to be 4/0.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 09:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My 3000 watt inverter tops out at over 270 amps. Return and reorder.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

phemens

Montreal, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 09:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm ok for the 5 in parallel, yes, mfg confirmed.
I know only the inverter needs the 4/0, which it does. To clarify, my question is: in real-world situation, is there any significant impact in having one battery wired to the bus with 4/0 where the other 4 are all 2/0 (all wire lengths being equal, only variance is gauge)

Ok, I will bite the bullet on the higher amperage bus bars

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 09:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

phemens wrote:

, is there any significant impact in having one battery wired to the bus with 4/0 where the other 4 are all 2/0 (all wire lengths being equal, only variance is gauge)
Now I remember.. you're wiring each battery separately to the busbar. Each battery contributes 1/5 of the required amps, in theory, so I wouldn't worry about the 4/0 thing..other than the hassle of working with it.

phemens

Montreal, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 10:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes - all batteries separate to bus.
If I can scrounge up the 2/0 I will, but I know I have some lengths of 4/0 readily available, and all the lugs, so if I can avoid buying I will.

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 10:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pianotuna wrote:

My 3000 watt inverter tops out at over 270 amps. Return and reorder.


X2, don't rush and settle for a weak link


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2017 Ram 2500 4x4, 6.4 HEMI, 4.10 / Auto

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 10:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

[image]


DLO
Diesel locomotive cable

https://skycraftsurplus.com/20-awg-dlo-2-kv-black-blk-20-awg-rp5878.html

It is the best quality cable I have ever used. Notice the multi sheathing. The outermost layer may be a much as 10-times tougher to cut or abrade than the stuff West Marine or Genuine Dealz, sell.

The inner layers are water and gas-proof. Acid proof, chemical proof.

I use RED shrink tubing to ID positive cables. DLO cable is black.

The tin plating is three times as thick as what's on, Anchor Wire

Rope stranding for best ampacity.

And Skycraft sells it at 50% off.

But 30' is the minimum purchase of 2/0 size

3/0 rated terminals highly recommended because 2/0 won't fit. Way too tight.

Far and away better cable than simple welding cable which has sheathing that has no cut or abrasion resistance.

Skycraft is in FL. The wire ships from a west coast warehouse.

phemens

Montreal, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/28/19 10:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ordered 2x Blue Seas 250A 4 post (for distribution), and 2x Blue Seas 250A 6 post for batteries. No more weak links (putting aside the human factor [emoticon]

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Bus Bars - 150A rated ok?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.