RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Norcold Fridge Issue - Help!

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Norcold Fridge Issue - Help!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Donebee

Montana

New Member

Joined: 04/21/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 01:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Norcold 982 fridge issue. Fridge was running on AC, plugged in at home. Checked and found it was running on propane, C6 error. Replaced AC Heater and turned back on, set to auto. Seemed to run fine but after checking several hours later, find that it is again running on propane and displaying C6 error.

Checked internal control information, all appears within specs, except for AC Heater, which shows 1.5 amps, not 2.7 - 2.9 as listed in specs.

Did I get a bad new part?

drsteve

Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 02:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

C6 code means AC heater open...

Clicky



2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS
1991 Palomino Filly PUP

Donebee

Montana

New Member

Joined: 04/21/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 02:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I am aware of that, which is why I replaced the AC Heater with a new part.

maillemaker

office

Senior Member

Joined: 09/08/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 02:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sounds like the new element burned up. Either you got a bad one, or something is wrong that is burning up elements.


1990 Winnebago Warrior. "She may not look like much but she's got it where it counts!"



Donebee

Montana

New Member

Joined: 04/21/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 03:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm hoping it's a bad element; the last one worked for the five years I've owned the motorhome without any issues.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 09/06/19 03:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would check for output from the circuit board. The circuit board is looking for resistance of the element. It is possible that the relay is bad on the board. you could wire up a standard 120 volt lamp socket with lamp and connect to output of the circuit board to simulate.the element. If thelamp does not light up, the circuit could be at fault. 60-100 watt incandescent lamp should be sufficient.
Measure your replacement element for resistance across the leads. No resistance means it is open and bad.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/06/19 03:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ohm the element out. If the spec is ~2.8A you should read ~43ohms. (120V/2.8A = ~43ohms).

If the element is ok, there is extra resistance from somewhere else including wires, connections or the relay.

The relay in our 621 failed but more drastically. I replaced it for less than $6 (http://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fuseac........d/29727778/gotomsg/29741786.cfm#29741786)

Donebee

Montana

New Member

Joined: 04/21/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/11/19 08:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Okay, I turned off the fridge and let it sit overnight. Tested the new, recently replaced AC Heater and it tests at 44 Ohms. I'm thinking about turning the fridge on, waiting for the element to fail, as it seems to run on AC for 30 minutes or so before it fails. and then ohm it out again once it fails. Perhaps it's failing after the element begins to heat?

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 09/11/19 07:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Did you happen to test your old element for resistance?
Sounds like it is the circuit board

Donebee

Montana

New Member

Joined: 04/21/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/12/19 08:03am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I did. It had indeed failed. Not that it can't be the circuit board, but it was replaced less that one years ago.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Norcold Fridge Issue - Help!
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS