RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Main power extension cord now a must for me

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Main power extension cord now a must for me

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
imgoin4it

Alamogordo, NM USA

Senior Member

Joined: 10/25/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/07/19 04:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I carry a 25 foot 50 amp extension cord. It used to be 30 feet cord with a 50 amp plug until I drug it about 15 miles down an interstate highway. A little shorter but turned it into an extension.


Howard,Connie,& Bella,
One spoiled schnauzer
2007 Newmar KSDP
4dr Jeep Wrangler

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 05:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Exactly why I use an autoformer.

Boomerweps wrote:

75'! 125'! Great Googly Moogly!
MASSIVE voltage drop!

Yes, it was a private CG.



Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

SoundGuy

S Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/11/2015

View Profile



Posted: 09/07/19 05:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Boomerweps wrote:

Last camp, the power pedestal for my site was too far away for my 30' mains cable.

I needed between 15-20' to reach.


Boo Hoo - here in Ontario, when camping in the provincial park system, 100' to the power post isn't unusual at all. I have 140' of 10 gauge and have used every bit of it on occasion.

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 07:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cougar28 wrote:

ScottG wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

With DUAL 50A Receptacles Front & Rear and detachable 50A Power Cord I have NOT needed an extension cord


How do you switch between them?


He saying he has a receptacle that common between the two on his. One in front and one at the rear so he just uses the closest one to the power pedestal to plug his cord into.


Thx, I knew what he was saying. Problem is, if you're plugged into one and there's no switch to select between them, the other will be hot and present an electrocution danger.

That's why I asked.

Scott


Scott, Grace and Wesly
2003 Dodge 3500 4x4, 6 speed Cummins.
2018 Silver Fox 32A.
H0NDA eu2000i

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 08:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ScottG wrote:


Thx, I knew what he was saying. Problem is, if you're plugged into one and there's no switch to select between them, the other will be hot and present an electrocution danger.

That's why I asked.

Scott


I was thinking the same thing, sounds dangerous.

Of course, locking covers maybe?


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2017 Ram 2500 4x4, 6.4 HEMI, 4.10 / Auto

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 09/07/19 09:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cougar28 wrote:

ScottG wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

With DUAL 50A Receptacles Front & Rear and detachable 50A Power Cord I have NOT needed an extension cord


How do you switch between them?


He saying he has a receptacle that common between the two on his. One in front and one at the rear so he just uses the closest one to the power pedestal to plug his cord into.



The 2 AC Source Inputs went to an Auto Transfer Switch \
The ATS were troublesome (Parallax)....both failed and Parallax knew of problems. Wanted to keep sending me replacements.... [emoticon]

I threw the junk away and installed a 125V subpanel wired up the 2 AC Source Inputs to 50A CBs that are mechanically interlocked so only one AC source can be On at a time.

Need a part........50A CBs available at any hardware store. No more troublesome relays/contacts etc.
Just a simple manual transfer by flipping the CBs


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 10:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

I have a permanent extension cord #10 with a male end at the front of my RV and a female at the rear. I simply plug the Shore power cord into the female outlet. That lets me power the RV from either end safely.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 10:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pianotuna wrote:

Hi,

I have a permanent extension cord #10 with a male end at the front of my RV and a female at the rear. I simply plug the Shore power cord into the female outlet. That lets me power the RV from either end safely.
So you plug in shore power to the female outlet and the male end of the permanent extension cord is now hot? There must be more to the story.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/07/19 10:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Old-Biscuit wrote:

cougar28 wrote:

ScottG wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

With DUAL 50A Receptacles Front & Rear and detachable 50A Power Cord I have NOT needed an extension cord


How do you switch between them?


He saying he has a receptacle that common between the two on his. One in front and one at the rear so he just uses the closest one to the power pedestal to plug his cord into.



The 2 AC Source Inputs went to an Auto Transfer Switch \
The ATS were troublesome (Parallax)....both failed and Parallax knew of problems. Wanted to keep sending me replacements.... [emoticon]

I threw the junk away and installed a 125V subpanel wired up the 2 AC Source Inputs to 50A CBs that are mechanically interlocked so only one AC source can be On at a time.

Need a part........50A CBs available at any hardware store. No more troublesome relays/contacts etc.
Just a simple manual transfer by flipping the CBs


I knew it would be above-board! [emoticon]

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 09/08/19 12:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ScottG wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

cougar28 wrote:

ScottG wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

With DUAL 50A Receptacles Front & Rear and detachable 50A Power Cord I have NOT needed an extension cord


How do you switch between them?


He saying he has a receptacle that common between the two on his. One in front and one at the rear so he just uses the closest one to the power pedestal to plug his cord into.



The 2 AC Source Inputs went to an Auto Transfer Switch \
The ATS were troublesome (Parallax)....both failed and Parallax knew of problems. Wanted to keep sending me replacements.... [emoticon]

I threw the junk away and installed a 125V subpanel wired up the 2 AC Source Inputs to 50A CBs that are mechanically interlocked so only one AC source can be On at a time.

Need a part........50A CBs available at any hardware store. No more troublesome relays/contacts etc.
Just a simple manual transfer by flipping the CBs


I knew it would be above-board! [emoticon]


No 'widow maker' cords for me!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Main power extension cord now a must for me
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS