RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Using Dryer's NEMA 14-30 outlet for RV shore power

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Using Dryer's NEMA 14-30 outlet for RV shore power

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
audiodane

alabama

Full Member

Joined: 10/20/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/08/19 08:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sayoung wrote:

I misunderstood where your dryer plug is, when you said on other side of garage I was visualizing 15 to 20 feet away. If those are GE-Homeline style breakers ( photo fuzzy ) , replacing with thins might be cheaper than the quad style. Lowes sales the GE Qline 30 & 50 dbl's for less than $10 ea. Thru the years the GE style "thins " gave me very little trouble and I' ve installed a many on the job , when I worked[emoticon]


wnjj wrote:

With that many normal sized breakers, it may be less expensive to tandem four of them into 2 slots and then install a standard 50 double pole breaker. Have you pulled a breaker to see if they will support tandems?


I think y'all are saying the same thing... You mean replace four single-wides with two tandems, and that frees up a double-spot for an inexpensive double-wide 50A.

It looks like from HomeDepot a tandem 20A is around $10, a tandem 15A is around $8, and a double-50A is also around $10. The Siemens quad from Amazon is about $30 so it looks more or less like a price wash....

Oh, but look, the Siemen's 20/5050/20 version (as opposed to 15/5050/15) is available for $23... Woot! Gonna cancel the $30 15/5050/15 and order a 20/5050/20 since I have 20A neighbor pairs also available...


2018 Ram 3500 CC SB 4x4 SRW

audiodane

alabama

Full Member

Joined: 10/20/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/08/19 08:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer wrote:

As far as the OPs setup, the only issue I see with the double breakers is many boxes which do accept those breakers do not have enough ground and Neutral buss bar connections. This may require doubling up on the ground and Neutral wires on the buss bars. Some electrical inspectors may be OK with that and some may not.


Checked.. PLENTY of open neutral connections on both panels... [emoticon]

thanks!

Learjet

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/21/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 06:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:

With that many normal sized breakers, it may be less expensive to tandem four of them into 2 slots and then install a standard 50 double pole breaker. Have you pulled a breaker to see if they will support tandems?


yep...that was my first thought too..double 15 or 20 amp as applicable.

https://www.amazon.com/Square-Schneider-........8579HF&psc=1&refRID=FMAKJK0XEZJ46R8579HF


2017 Ram Big Horn, DRW Long Box, 4x4, Cummins, Aisin, 3.73
2015 Wildcat 317RL, MoRryde rubber pin box, Titan Disc Brakes, Trojan T105
B&W Ram Companion

Yamaha EF2600c tri-fuel generator
Champion Model 46595- 3000/3500w


sayoung

Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 08:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Please don't use anything made by Siemens , its junk from my experience with their breakers/panels.

audiodane

alabama

Full Member

Joined: 10/20/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 08:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sayoung wrote:

Please don't use anything made by Siemens , its junk from my experience with their breakers/panels.


Oh, really? I had not heard this. Hmm. Okay.

Well then I'll go the approach of replacing 4x 15's and/or 20's with tandems, and then get a double-50 as was recommended by others.. local hardware stores carry Square-D which I know many people often recommend..

thanks!

wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 09:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

audiodane wrote:

sayoung wrote:

Please don't use anything made by Siemens , its junk from my experience with their breakers/panels.


Oh, really? I had not heard this. Hmm. Okay.

Well then I'll go the approach of replacing 4x 15's and/or 20's with tandems, and then get a double-50 as was recommended by others.. local hardware stores carry Square-D which I know many people often recommend..

thanks!

From what I gather, Siemens and Square D is a Ford/Chevy thing for some. Use whatever your panel requires as there are different styles. Pull an existing breaker and take it with you to be sure.

audiodane

alabama

Full Member

Joined: 10/20/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 09:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:


From what I gather, Siemens and Square D is a Ford/Chevy thing for some. Use whatever your panel requires as there are different styles. Pull an existing breaker and take it with you to be sure.


Ahhhh, okay. Thanks @wnjj. I have the seimens on order. once I actually get in there in the next couple of days/weeks I'll have a look and see what brands are in there and if the siemens fits/works or not..

Might be a few days before I get back to it while I wait for outlet and stuff to arrive...

Learjet

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/21/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 11:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sounds like you are on the right track, just remember that you will need to be able to turn the power off to connect and disconnect....sounds like the outlet will be below the panel...so that should make it easy.

here is one of the three 50 amp outlets I have installed at my property [emoticon]

[image]

sayoung

Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 12:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:

audiodane wrote:

sayoung wrote:

Please don't use anything made by Siemens , its junk from my experience with their breakers/panels.


Oh, really? I had not heard this. Hmm. Okay.

Well then I'll go the approach of replacing 4x 15's and/or 20's with tandems, and then get a double-50 as was recommended by others.. local hardware stores carry Square-D which I know many people often recommend..

thanks!

From what I gather, Siemens and Square D is a Ford/Chevy thing for some. Use whatever your panel requires as there are different styles. Pull an existing breaker and take it with you to be sure.

When I was working I replaced lots of Siemens breakers, they should change the spelling . CH, GE, SqD & SqD homeline did quit but not often. SqD Disconnects most trouble as it uses a switch that looks like a breaker so after not being turned off after10 years of working and the repair guy turns it off to work on equipment, it won't reset. Be glad you don't have a Federal Pacific panel trying to do this .

audiodane

alabama

Full Member

Joined: 10/20/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/19 09:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Learjet wrote:

sounds like you are on the right track, just remember that you will need to be able to turn the power off to connect and disconnect....sounds like the outlet will be below the panel...so that should make it easy.


Ohhhh, I *had* forgotten about that. Yes, easy enough to just post a big placard that says "STOP! Flip breaker off before plugging/unplugging!" ....

It would be kind of nice though if there was a drop-down cover at acted like a switch. Lift the cover to insert- power cut. Lower cover, power on. Lift cover to remove plug, power cut.

But until then, a big red stop sign placard hanging on the breaker box should be fine. My kids would probably love to make it for me, too. [emoticon]

..dane

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Using Dryer's NEMA 14-30 outlet for RV shore power
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.