|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

> To Buy or build

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
way2roll

Wilmington NC

View Profile

Posted: 10/01/19 09:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As conversations get serious about our plans to full time in the next 2 years DW and I have entered into a heated debate. Let me preface by saying this all started a week ago when we visited some friends who have built out a custom sprinter. Let me also say it was a phenomenal job but he's a custom cabinet maker by trade. It took him 2 years. That said his B has no bathroom, heat, AC, and a cartridge toilet, hardly what I am looking for in terms of a full time rig.

In any event, we are starting to think about the right RV for full timing. Let's ignore the DP vs Gas thing, DW is on a kick that we should buy a bus shell and build it out. I, however, and not sure that avenue makes sense. Her biggest complaint is not being green. Production RV's are full of VOC's, glues, stains, paints and a recycled bus is greener. I am not really arguing that but I am more concerned with reliability and a nice place to live on the road and my abilities to make it happen. I feel like a used RV a few years old has outgassed most of the VOC's and I can replace/modify finishes for greener products.