RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 50 amp coach on 30 amp power

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50 amp coach on 30 amp power

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Grey Mountain

On the rez somewhere in Indian Country

Senior Member

Joined: 08/25/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 07:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We are currently in a 30amp site. As we use various electrical components, the "brain" will show us how many amps are being used. What happens if we exceed the 30 amps available? Say, two small heaters that will use 15 amps each all by themselves. The fridge, of course, is always on and pulls a few amps.
We are very inexperienced in using 30amp only in this coach, although our former gasser was a 30 amp rig.

Thanks.

GM


2006 Discovery 39S Tin Teepee
Honda CR-V Toad
Enrolled member of the Comanche Tribe
English Bride
Bichon Frise bear killers:
Lord Shonefeld von Reginald-Friese IV.
Lady Annabelle von Lichenstein-Friese III.

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 10/09/19 07:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't know, but why don't you use the furnace?

Sam Spade

North Central Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 07:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Several things can happen.
IF....you have the adapter at or near to the supply pole, nothing bad should happen to the RV equipment.
BUT.....
The adapter might overheat.
The 30 amp receptacle might overheat.
The 30 amp breaker at the supply outlet might trip.

It is really NOT good to exceed a 25 amp draw on a 30 amp service because you don't know how good the feed really is.


'07 Damon Outlaw 3611
CanAm Spyder in the "trunk"

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 10/09/19 07:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

I don't know, but why don't you use the furnace?
Probably because electricity to run the heaters is included in the cost of the site, but propane costs extra. That's why I do it.

If you exceed the 30 amps, then the circuit breaker on the pedestal should trip.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

accsys

Green Cove Springs, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 07/09/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 07:33am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you exceed the 30 amps the circuit breaker on the pedestal should pop and shut off power to the coach. If we are on a 30 amp site we switch the water heater to propane only, set the inverter/charger to only use 5 amps to charge the batteries, and set the reefer to propane only (if it's an absorption type). This will allow more power to be used on other items without popping the breaker on the pedestal. Our air conditioners are also heat pumps and we have found them to be the most efficient way to heat the unit as long as outside temps are above 40°. If below 40°, we use the furnace(s) which use very little electricity. Electric heaters are about the most inefficient way you can heat a coach.


John & Doris
Doris and Robbies Blogs
2007 Tiffin Phaeton QDH 40 w/Cat 7 350 (Mothership)
2004 Liberty Renegade 4x4 Toad (Libby)
Roadmaster Falcon 2 tow bar
Air Force One toad braking system
FMCA F380583, PA, Good Sams



rhagfo

Portland, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 07:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well depending out side temps you could get by with one heater, or just use your furnace.
That said if you excede 30 amps you will likely trip either the the Post breaker, or the main in your coach.


Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"


swphotobug

varous

Full Member

Joined: 11/22/2014

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 07:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You don't say what coach you have. Ours is a 50a that runs fine on 30a. We have a system that sheds loads as other components need electricity. An example is the A/C's. Only one will run at a time when shedding. Our coach is a 2015, if yours is newish check to make sure you don't have load shedding. Other than that you will quickly learn what combination trips the breaker. We have all our electic items labeled with how much each takes. We bought a Kill-A-Watt and measured everything.

Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 08:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

"YOU" choose what you use by watching amps used for each item on your meter. Don't exceed 30A and all is well.


2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

BB_TX

McKinney, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 04/04/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/09/19 08:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Simple answer is it will trip the park breaker but will not harm anything. Just reset the breaker and remember what you were using at the time and don’t use that combination any more.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/09/19 08:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Heater is probably 12 amps not 15. I agree it would help to run what you can on propane or you could be in the dark. If you do choose to run near the max keep an eye on the 50/30 adapter as they are known to overheat if the connection is less than perfect.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50 amp coach on 30 amp power
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS