RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Wiring neutral/ground when splitting panel for MultiPlus?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Wiring neutral/ground when splitting panel for MultiPlus?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev
Sponsored By:
3 tons

CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/05/19 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joe6789 wrote:

Well the switch is actually rated for 350A, there's a 300A fuse at the positive terminal, and I'm using 0000 cables that are all very short. So theoretically all these components should be able to manage the current just fine. And right now the inverter isn't even hooked up to any AC loads, so it's only idling at about 0.9A draw.


In my limited world view (from the few inverters I’ve installed...) I’ve yet to install one that suggested a master switch, nor do I believe that Victron calls for one, but considering your present scenario from afar, I would proceed to ditch the switch..

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/05/19 09:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

0.9 amps should have only a tiny effect if the batteries and cabling are in proper shape. This is not a chassis ground or inverter issue.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

joe6789

TX

New Member

Joined: 10/10/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/05/19 11:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm fine ditching the switch. You're right that Victron did not call for it. The purpose was simply to be a master battery disconnect, so I could disconnect ALL loads (not just the inverter) on the battery when the trailer is not in use. But I may have to live without the switch, and manually unhook the battery instead when the trailer is not in use.

It would still be good to know what is happening though. I doubt the issue is the switch itself, as it seems to be functioning normally with only the inverter connected through it. My best guesses right now are either:
a) Some sort of feature on the inverter, but I'm still not sure how the inverter could possibly be dropping the battery terminal voltage to zero
B) Some sort of feature on the Battle Born batteries. They have a built-in battery management system, so maybe the batteries are shutting themselves off for some reason when the switch turns on.

I have the workaround for now (only hooking one component through the switch), so I'll proceed with the installation while I'm still figuring out what was going wrong.

3 tons

CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/05/19 11:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joe6789 wrote:

I'm fine ditching the switch. You're right that Victron did not call for it. The purpose was simply to be a master battery disconnect, so I could disconnect ALL loads (not just the inverter) on the battery when the trailer is not in use. But I may have to live without the switch, and manually unhook the battery instead when the trailer is not in use.

It would still be good to know what is happening though. I doubt the issue is the switch itself, as it seems to be functioning normally with only the inverter connected through it. My best guesses right now are either:
a) Some sort of feature on the inverter, but I'm still not sure how the inverter could possibly be dropping the battery terminal voltage to zero
B) Some sort of feature on the Battle Born batteries. They have a built-in battery management system, so maybe the batteries are shutting themselves off for some reason when the switch turns on.

I have the workaround for now (only hooking one component through the switch), so I'll proceed with the installation while I'm still figuring out what was going wrong.


First off I must have missed the fact that you have Li batteries (how many??), and know that the BMS can definitely be your problem... Do you have another battery which you can temporarily substitute for the Lithium ??

I recently installed a single 100a LiFePo4 Lithium in a camper conversion, and was able to see during start-ups of the Coleman Mach 1 P.S. ‘momentarily’ as high as 400 dc LRA amps via the Victron meter, thus one might assume that the BMS was tolerant of this sudden but momentary loading, though the mfg. surge specification was rated at only 200amps for 20 sec...

The voltage drop you’ve described is a red flag, thus I believe your BMS might somehow be the root cause...

3 tons

3 tons

CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/05/19 12:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sorry, double post...

joe6789

TX

New Member

Joined: 10/10/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/05/19 10:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

After a long day of splicing wires I finally have the entire setup installed. The Victron inverter/charger is both inverting and charging. Thanks everyone for the help in determining the right setup.

It was not without more hiccups today though. The batteries were again dropping to near zero voltage. I called Battle Born, who said the battery management system could be causing this, but they didn't know why. They suggested that the switch (Blue Sea Systems 350A on/off switch) could be bad. I completely removed the switch from the circuit, and that fixed the issue (at least for now). Maybe the switch was falsely tripping the BMS. I may experiment some more with different configurations for the switch.

3 tons

CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/06/19 08:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joe6789 wrote:

After a long day of splicing wires I finally have the entire setup installed. The Victron inverter/charger is both inverting and charging. Thanks everyone for the help in determining the right setup.

It was not without more hiccups today though. The batteries were again dropping to near zero voltage. I called Battle Born, who said the battery management system could be causing this, but they didn't know why. They suggested that the switch (Blue Sea Systems 350A on/off switch) could be bad. I completely removed the switch from the circuit, and that fixed the issue (at least for now). Maybe the switch was falsely tripping the BMS. I may experiment some more with different configurations for the switch.


Nice, Looks like you’re on to something, Glad you’ve persevered (via process of elimination) and found a path forward...Please keep us posted as to the possibility of a BMS issue!

3 tons

* This post was edited 11/06/19 08:14am by 3 tons *

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Wiring neutral/ground when splitting panel for MultiPlus?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS