RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Using Winegard Satelite Dish Far From Home???

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Using Winegard Satelite Dish Far From Home???

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
BradW

Mayor of Flat Rock

Senior Member

Joined: 10/29/2001

View Profile



Posted: 10/31/19 01:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We just got back from a trip to Yellowstone from our home in Alabama. We could never get our Winegard Roof Dome Antenna and Direct Satellite Receiver functioning properly.

I admit that this is all pretty new to us, but we did get it all to work before we left home.

Our dish system is pretty simple, just turn it on and let it find the satellite. Then we have to go through set up mode on the Direct receiver. We could never get the thing working. We tried at 3 differ locations while on the trip. They all had unobstructed views of the southern sky.

I guess we should have called Winegard or Direct help line, but we never really needed it to work to actually watch something important, we were just making sure we knew how to use it. Well obviously we didn't and it was usually late in the day when we tried and we just gave up.

My question is, since we travelled a long ways west and a long ways north, is there something we should have done differently to set up the antenna or Direct receiver to tell it we needed to look at a different satellite or whatever?

Thanks for any help,
bradw


Wake Up America
2019 Lance 1062 and 2018 F-350 CC PSD 4X4 DRW
Tembrens, Rear Roadmaster Sway Bar, Torklift 48" Extention and 30K Superhitch
Our New Lance 1062 Truck Camper Unloading at Dealer Photos


azdryheat

Tucson, AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 03/02/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/19 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I use the same setup. We've been all over the country with no problems, so it's not a location issue. I think the box isn't getting the sat signal.


2013 Chevy 3500HD CC dually
2014 Voltage 3600 toy hauler
2011 Harley Ultra Limited
2016 RZR 900


2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/31/19 03:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BradW wrote:

Then we have to go through set up mode on the Direct receiver.
Not sure what this means. All you should have to do is turn it on.

As the other poster stated, location doesn't matter.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/31/19 04:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You would need to go through the receiver setup once and only once unless you move the receiver between home and RV. If that's the case, you must go through the receiver setup before you try to have the antenna search for the satellite as it will not be able to do so with any of the home setup settings. In the RV you want to have the receiver set to 18" round and Multi-switch to allow the antenna to locate the 101 satellite.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

BradW

Mayor of Flat Rock

Senior Member

Joined: 10/29/2001

View Profile



Posted: 10/31/19 06:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks all for the good info. Like I said, this is all new to us and we are struggling with it.

We will go out there tomorrow and try again.

Thanks,
Bradw

azdryheat

Tucson, AZ

Senior Member

Joined: 03/02/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/31/19 09:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

You would need to go through the receiver setup once and only once unless you move the receiver between home and RV. If that's the case, you must go through the receiver setup before you try to have the antenna search for the satellite as it will not be able to do so with any of the home setup settings. In the RV you want to have the receiver set to 18" round and Multi-switch to allow the antenna to locate the 101 satellite.
He's got the Trav'ler that gets all three sats with the push of a button.

DFord

Near St Louis, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 12/16/2001

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/31/19 09:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What model Winegard Antenna are you using and what is the model of your receiver? To get a good answer, you need to provide as much background information as possible. Also, how is the antenna mounted and wired to the antenna? You said something about it working at home? What were the conditions then? What I'm asking is did it ever work correctly for you in the RV?


Don Ford
2004 Safari Trek 31SBD (F53/V10 20,500GVW)
'09 HHR 2LT or '97 Aerostar MiniVan (Remco driveshaft disconnect) for Towed vehicles
BlueOx Aventa II Towbar - ReadyBrake Inertia Brake System


Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/01/19 06:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

azdryheat wrote:

Bill.Satellite wrote:

You would need to go through the receiver setup once and only once unless you move the receiver between home and RV. If that's the case, you must go through the receiver setup before you try to have the antenna search for the satellite as it will not be able to do so with any of the home setup settings. In the RV you want to have the receiver set to 18" round and Multi-switch to allow the antenna to locate the 101 satellite.
He's got the Trav'ler that gets all three sats with the push of a button.


The OP (BradW) has a dome and not a Trav'ler. That's who I was responding to. Not sure who you are referring to.

chuckbear

Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 06/07/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/01/19 07:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Don't confuse the Sat set up in the receiver with the normal boot-up sequence. Chuck

BradW

Mayor of Flat Rock

Senior Member

Joined: 10/29/2001

View Profile



Posted: 11/01/19 01:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OK, thanks again for all the advice and help. Based on the info provided, I updated my own instructions as shown below. We went out and tried it and it worked.

Based on the info y'all provided, I only have to reset the Direct receiver when I move it between the house and camper. Once in the camper, I won't have to reset it when we move to a new location.

And I also learned there is nothing special I need to do when we travel from the southeast to out west....like select another satellite.

Thanks again for the help,
bradw


Set-Up Camper DirectTV - 11/01/19
-Should only have to reset Direct Receiver when it is moved between house to camper
-Direct Receiver Model: HR24
-Winegard Roof-Mounted Dome Antenna Mod: Road Trip P4
-Connect DVR (Sat Input 1) to satellite antenna COAX
-Turn on TV using power button on Jensen TV control
-Dish receiver on 480P, then push RES button to select
-Connect white, red, and yellow cables between TV and DVR
-Press “Source” button on Jensen TV remote and select “AV”
-Select 480P on DVR with RES Button
-DirecTV remote – hold “exit” to confirm 480P
-DirectTV DVD Remote
-press “menu”
-“repeat satellite setup”
-press Dash ( - )
-Dish type: 18 x 20 “triple-sat-LNB (other option not selected was 18” Round LNB)
-RB/INTL: none selected
-switch type: multi switch
-tuners: single
-continue
-Turn antenna on and let dish find satellite
-Retest
-Screen will show 101 and 119 with check marks (3 of 4)
-continue
-continue
-set up remote later
-screen message will read “receiving satellite info”
-continue
-DVR Receiver will reboot itself (takes about 10 minutes)
-watch DirectTV

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Using Winegard Satelite Dish Far From Home???
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS