RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class C Motorhomes: Limit switch trips on Atwood furnace

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Limit switch trips on Atwood furnace

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
LDMontgom

Tennessee

New Member

Joined: 11/06/2019

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/06/19 05:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My 1993 Jayco Motorhome Atwood furnace fan runs for @ 12-15 sec then the furnace ignites, it runs for a sec or two, then the limit switch trips.

pushtoy 2

texas

Full Member

Joined: 02/06/2018

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/06/19 05:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

not enough air flow. Voltage low or sail switch badbad


DREAMER ">

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 11/06/19 06:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Return air vent plugged up, or heat ducts plugged up,(dog hair?) or outlet vents closed in some rooms (open them all)

Remove floor and wall registers to vacuum the ducts out, remove return air vent to vacuum behind it.

It might not be the limit switch, but the flame sensor might not be detecting the flame. Check the prongs in the burner for stuff on them.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
See Profile for House electronics set-up.

LDMontgom

Tennessee

New Member

Joined: 11/06/2019

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/06/19 07:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I forgot to mention that this started after I replaced the blower motor that was locked up.
All vents and return are clear.
I had thought about replacing the sail switch, but I didn’t just want to start replacing parts and throwing away money.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 11/06/19 09:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What makes you think it is the Limit Switch??
High TemLimit Switch would need more time for overheating

Flame igniting then shutting down is symptom of 'Flame Proving' failure
That happens with in just a 6=8 seconds

Flame generates an AC current that gets rectified into a DC Current that circuit board is looking for...no signal/circuit board shuts down DC to gas valve so raw fuel does not accumulate.

Flame sensing is via Spark Electrode/Ground Rod
Must be CLEAN cause signal is only a few milliamps


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

bobndot

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/21/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/06/19 11:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

YouTube has 'how to' info ,

Flame Sensor testing; how to easily test a RV furnace

garyemunson

Reno, Nevada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/27/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/07/19 03:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Are you SURE the new blower motor is exactly the same (not a slower speed one)? A tip for working on your furnace..if the propane hose is long enough, get a trailer 4 pin plug/socket and use that for a quick disconnect for the electric (and add extra length to wiring). This let me set the furnace on a couple sawhorses just outside the RV, connect it and run it fully exposed. Easier to troubleshoot/work on it.

LDMontgom

Tennessee

New Member

Joined: 11/06/2019

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/07/19 05:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The limit switch trips every time I try to run the furnace. That is why I say that the limit switch trips. I am not saying that the limit switch is bad.
I could not get the exact motor, because of age, but the description said it was compatible. I have not totally ruled it out.
Everything appears to be clean as far as debris. There was a dirtdabber nest in the exhaust area, but I cleaned it out. There appears to adequate coming out.

The motor comes on for @15 seconds, the gas usually ignites, runs for a second or two, then the limit switch trips. Sometimes the limit switch will trip before it ignites.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 11/07/19 08:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

How do you KNOW it the limit switch is tripping?
What is TELLING you it is Limit Switch?

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 11/07/19 10:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

"Sometimes the limit switch will trip before it ignites."

How can it do that when the limit switch operates from heat? The limit switch is way in the back where the duct holes are. You seem to be calling a part up front by the wrong name.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > Limit switch trips on Atwood furnace
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS