RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Winegard mission

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Winegard mission

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
tarnold

georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/25/19 08:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Been pushing a lot of buttons, not getting anywhere. Is the subject compatible with a direct D12-100? The dip switches are set for direct. Any thing “extra” needed?

rk911

DuPage County

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/25/19 08:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

clear view of the southern sky?


Rich
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot
_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK

& MaggieThe Wonder Beagle

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 12/25/19 08:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Verify that you have power to the antenna.
Verify that the coaxial cable goes directly from receiver to the dish without any devices.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


rk911

DuPage County

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/25/19 09:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

if you're connecting the antenna to the receiver using the coach's connector in an outside compartment try running the coax directly to the receiver thru a window or door and see if that helps.

tarnold

georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/25/19 10:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Op, there is a cable marked sat that comes out of the wall, it is plugged into receiver. You can hear the antenna trying to seek. At one point where you check for strength out of 30 boxes, only 2 boxes showed numbers.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/25/19 02:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

IIRC, you cannot have the signal strength meter displayed while the antenna is doing it's search.
Also, the setting in the receiver can be critical to the success of the search. Go into the receiver setup menu and ensure the receiver is set to 18" round and Multi-Switch. I don't care what you have read elsewhere, those are the settings that will make your antenna work properly assuming the receiver is activated and has been on line and watching DTV recently.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

tarnold

georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/25/19 04:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe this is the problem. In the “book” for the dish type, it says “select 3-LNB (18x20)
So my direct box model should work?

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/26/19 05:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

tarnold wrote:

Maybe this is the problem. In the “book” for the dish type, it says “select 3-LNB (18x20)
So my direct box model should work?


As I said, "mo matter what else....." use 18" round and be sure it's set to Multi-switch and not SWM for best results. DTV only broadcasts from the 101 satellite these days so 3 satellite reception is not necessary (3 LNB) and the 18" round option looks for the 101 only.
If the D12 was working previously, it should also work now but may stop working sometime in the future when HD only is broadcast as the D12 is a SD receiver only.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 12/26/19 08:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP:
Suggest you start fresh.
Does the dish make any noise like it is searching for satelite.
If no, then you could have a power problem. Verify wiring per instructions.
If yes, verify dish settings as suggested by others.

tarnold

georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/26/19 10:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Op. When do system info shows dish type as slimline-3s (Swm)
Have read all above posts, but no amount of left right up down button pushing will get me to where I can change the dish type? How get there?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Winegard mission
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.