|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Raising TC Off Bed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Go for Broke

Colorado

View Profile

Posted: 02/02/20 09:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Newbie here with a question about my first truck camper.

I have read that you can add rubber mat to the floor of the truck bed to raise the TC. This appears primarily to keep the shelf from contacting the roof of the truck.

So far, so good.

I would then assume that some sort of support would be added to the bed rails to support the TC full width.

Here are my questions:

What is a good material?
Should they be the full length of the bed rails?
Should they also span the width of the bed immediately behind the cab?
Should this supports be attached or are they retained by the weight of the TC?
Is a problem with water leaking around and filling the truck bed?
Anything else I should know about this technique?

Thanks Y’all,

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

View Profile

Posted: 02/03/20 12:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You DONT want the camper resting on the bed rails. Add enough height to the truck bed to get the camper to clear the rails. Don’t have to be by much 1/2”? Clear would be sufficient.
Plywood, horse stall mats, bed mat, or combination of, to get the height.

"Yes Sir, Oct 10 1888, Those poor school children froze to death in their tracks. They did not even find them until Spring. Especially hard hit were the ones who had to trek uphill to school both ways, with no shoes." -Bert A.

JD5150

Anywhere

View Profile