RV.Net Open Roads Forum: wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev
Sponsored By:
joelyn

Az

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/13/20 08:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

delete





time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/13/20 08:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Green goes in the connector similar to the Neutral.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/13/20 09:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Connect the supply ground to the lug mounted on the box wall. The whole box becomes a ground connection so the green wire is fine where it’s at.

joelyn

Az

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/13/20 09:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Green goes in the connector similar to the Neutral.


THANK U, JUST MAKING SURE..

joelyn

Az

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/13/20 09:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:

Connect the supply ground to the lug mounted on the box wall. The whole box becomes a ground connection so the green wire is fine where it’s at.


PERFECT, i thought that but figured i would make sure... always received the right info on many things over the many years on this forum. AGAIN, THANK U ALL FOR SHARING UR KNOWLEDGE...

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/14/20 05:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Green goes to the terminal block just above the word GREEN in the diagram

Black and white as you noted.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Learjet

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/21/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/14/20 05:13am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The lug for the ground


2017 Ram Big Horn, DRW Long Box, 4x4, Cummins, Aisin, 3.73
2015 Wildcat 317RL, MoRryde rubber pin box, Titan Disc Brakes, Trojan T105
B&W Ram Companion

Yamaha EF2600c tri-fuel generator
Champion Model 46595- 3000/3500w


sayoung

Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/14/20 07:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Put the green gnd wire to the lug, that's what it's for. Electrically same as the screw connection. This is considered a " sub-feed panel " which is why the white neutral has no connection to the gnd circuit.

azrving

Oatman

Senior Member

Joined: 05/17/2013

View Profile



Posted: 02/14/20 07:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As they said green goes to the lug that is mounted to the box. If you want to go one step further use an ohm meter or a continuity test light to check from the neutral lug to the box itself. There should be NO connection or continuity from neutral to the box. If you were to check that after its wired it would appear that there IS continuity because the neutral and ground ARE bonded (connected) at the source (main panel).

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.