RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: lost 12VDC in coach

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > lost 12VDC in coach

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
calvin5445

seattle

New Member

Joined: 03/13/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 10:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have suddenly lost all the 12vdc in coach,Ac is fine, rear 12vdc fuse box is dead, any idea's!
Calvin Graedel
1989 Monaco Crown Royale

Matt_Colie

Southeast Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 10/09/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 10:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

How long have you had this coach?
Does it have a "Salesman Switch near the door?
Start checking from the house battery to the fuse panel.

Matt


Matt & Mary Colie
A sailor, his bride and their black dogs going to see some dry places that have Geocaches in a coach made the year we married.


midnightsadie

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 01/07/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 10:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

get your volt meter out start at the battery.

joelc

Cedar Point, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 02:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Usually there is a in-line fuse after the battery. Mine was hidden. Follow the 12V line. Should be with-in 2-3 feet of the battery. Also, if you have a shut off switch check to see if that is on. It might have been moved.

parkmanaa

Houston, Tx.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/12/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 02:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sounds like your AC to DC converter has a problem.
Need to check to see if AC (120v) is getting to one side of converter,
and if so, check to see if DC (12v) is getting out of he other side.

jdc1

Riverside, Ca

Full Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 02:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Or, it could be a bad ground.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 05:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My first tool choice is a 12 volt automotive test light

Brigth = Good
Dark = bad
Dim also bad
Problem exists between Bright and Not Bright

Start with clip any non-painted metal part near battery tip to battery Positive Bright good. Move out along the positive wire to the other end of the wire connected to the battery... Same test. .NOTE.. when you move the ground clip. if possible re-test the last known good spot (Testing ground)

No light on the first test move ground clip to battery - If bright bad ground cable

You come to a box with 2 bolts and wires attached. test all HEAVY wires if there are both heavy and small wires that is your cut off solenoid.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/12/20 08:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There often is an automatic circuit breaker between the battery bank and the 12 dc distribution center. It may have failed.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

myface

Florida

Full Member

Joined: 01/08/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/13/20 06:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When I lost power, took me some time with help, to find- hidden under dashboard- 40A breaker.

mike brez

Unknown

Senior Member

Joined: 09/27/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/13/20 02:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When mine did that it was the 200 amp fuse

[image]


1998 36 foot Country Coach Magna #5499 Single slide
Gillig chassis with a series 40
02 Ford F250 7.3 with a few mods
2015 Wrangler JKU

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > lost 12VDC in coach
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.