|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

> Entrance steps won't go out

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

View Profile

Posted: 04/13/20 05:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

thelazyl wrote:

dougrainer wrote:

thelazyl wrote:

I had this exact same symptom last month. I lubricated the joints and it resolved.

I doubt that. IF the steps do NOT move lubing will not help. You had a symptom, but NOT the same fault. Doug

I don't want to stomp on the OP's thread .. but as a relative newbie I am hoping you will elaborate so I can learn. By "same symptom" I mean the steps would not move but I could hear a "clunk clunk" like they were trying to. I checked electrical connections and the door switches. I then lubricated the hinges and the problem resolved. That was 2 weeks ago and has been consistent since. In a few weeks we hope to start a long trip - is there another type of diagnostic you recommend?

Clunk Clunk is a totally different sound from Click Click[emoticon] Obviously you had rusted linkages. The OP was hearing a tiny Click when the relay inside the control module sent power to the step motor. As you found out, Cleaning and Lubing the step linkages will keep the steps operating for years. Doug

RambleOnNW

Pacific Northwest

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 04/13/20 06:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator