RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Beginning RVing: Adding a 12v outlet

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

 > Adding a 12v outlet

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
er78mph

Chula Vista, CA

Full Member

Joined: 09/24/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/16/20 12:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello,

I wanted to tie in a 12v outlet at the panel/converter but there is no additional space. The location is really convenient. I was wondering if I can just tap in the the negati e/positive bus behind the panel in order to make this happen? I'll also add an inline fuse. I would just be using the outlet for low watt items. Thanks all in advance!!

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/20 12:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think it would be better to simply tie into an existing 12V circuit that seems appropriate.





opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/20 01:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, but with caution. Remember that you are not connecting to the circuit breakers (which are AC) so more than likely there is no BUS to help you out.

You are connecting to the fuses which typically are powered by a single, heavier gauge wire into the back of the fuse panel.

From the fuse panel you will then have a bunch of smaller fused wires out to the various 12v applications. You should be able to isolate a single 12v wire (I've used overhead lights in my trailer) and tap into that wire for your 12v positive. By going this route you probably do not need a fuse as the wire you tapped into is already fused at the panel.

As far as the negative, you might get lucky and the fuse panel also has a connected ground wire. If no ground wire then you can run a separate ground wire to somewhere. This is where a multimeter to check continuity comes in really handy. It might be possible to tap into the ground BUS on the AC side of the breaker panel. But this is typically advised against. You really want to find a ground location that is a bit isolated from the AC side of the system.


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

er78mph

Chula Vista, CA

Full Member

Joined: 09/24/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/16/20 03:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Okay, that makes sense! Thanks for your help and feedback!!

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/17/20 05:18am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

er78mph wrote:

Hello,

I wanted to tie in a 12v outlet at the panel/converter but there is no additional space. The location is really convenient. I was wondering if I can just tap in the the negati e/positive bus behind the panel in order to make this happen? I'll also add an inline fuse. I would just be using the outlet for low watt items. Thanks all in advance!!


Short answer is yes so long as you remember the fuse.

I have extra fuse slots in my panel and have added several additional outlets. Some wired back to the panel (3) some (3 more) tapped into existing circuits that had the current carrying capicity and a proper fuse.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


er78mph

Chula Vista, CA

Full Member

Joined: 09/24/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/19/20 03:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So I found a wire running to a 15Amp fuse at the panel for the "living area" and "exterior lights". Would it be okay to tap into this wire for my 12v connection?, thanks!!

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/19/20 04:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes but remember if you turn on too many lights it will be lights out when you plug into that outlet.. Of course if you convert to LED lights... LIkely won't happen. Just so you know each 1141 lamp is about 1.5 amps Running.

Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/19/20 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Before I tapped into that wire, I would pull its fuse and check to see just what doesn't work anymore. That way you have an idea of how much power that wire is currently supporting and just what will go out if you blow the fuse.


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB


Lwiddis

Lone Pine, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/12/20 06:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The answers above are the basics electrical circuits and what you can and can’t do.


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)


rockylarson

Jersey Shore

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/13/20 06:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I believe most auto store or big box store plugs and sockets are rated around 7amps, I chose to use Marinco rated at 15amps.
Marinco socket.
If you use their plugs they are waterproof and have a locking function.


I ran 10 gauge wire from my fuse panel and found an unassigned 20amp spot that I reduced to 10amp fuse. Heated CPAP and handheld car vacuum each have their own outlet.


Jan and Rocky
Volunteers for USFWS. 25 refuges with 8000 hrs ea since 2006. 2004 Allegro 30DA, Workhorse 8.1, Banks, 2012 Jeep Liberty Jet, Blue Ox Aladdin, Brake Buddy Advantage Select, 300 watts solar, 5 Optima group 31 AGM's, 2000watt Ames PSW inverter.


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

 > Adding a 12v outlet
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.