RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Large camper with single AC

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Large camper with single AC

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Hemling

Montello, WI

Full Member

Joined: 06/05/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/20 09:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Got parked in a no-shade side for the 4th. 37' TT with one central AC. Just couldn't keep up in the 90+ heat cooking all day. Should have taken up the offer to install the 2nd unit when we bought it. In my defense, site is only 30AMP so probably couldn't run them both anyway, at least that's what I'm telling my wife.

Trackrig

Spent the summer in Conconuly, Wa, MH now in Vanco

Senior Member

Joined: 05/15/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/20 10:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 40' DP with two air conditioners - if I ever buy another one, it will have three air conditioners. I wouldn't own anything larger than my 26' TT with only one air conditioner.

Bill


Nodwell RN110 out moose hunting. 4-53 Detroit, Clark 5 spd, 40" wide tracks, 10:00x20 tires, 16,000# capacity, 22,000# weight. You know the mud is getting deep when it's coming in the doors.


Hemling

Montello, WI

Full Member

Joined: 06/05/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/20 10:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Had I known then what I know now - lived in WI when we bought. Moved to Miami.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/20 11:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hemling,

A couple of solutions from most expensive to cheapest

1. Add a double mini split Air Conditioner and replace the existing roof top unit.

2. Add a 2nd roof top unit and an autoformer, combined with a hybrid inverter/charger that does load support.

3. add a window or through the wall air conditioner to the rear wall. Autoformer for sure--but maybe not hybrid inverter/charger

4. add a stand alone A.C. unit, one with twin tubes.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

valhalla360

No paticular place.

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/05/20 04:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Actually kind of shocking they even produced a unit that big with 1 air con. Around 28-30ft, you are reaching the limit for a single unit.

I assume the rig is a 50 amp rig (just the current site is 30amp) and it's wired up for a second air/con. Bite the bullet and get the second unit. I'll bet you every time it gets up in the low to mid 80's, it will struggle to keep the inside cool with only 1 unit.

One temporary thing, you can try is if the aircon vents close off, shut down the bedroom and bathroom and close them off so all the cool air is going to the main living area during the day. Usually at night, you don't need as much cooling, so you can open them back up.


Tammy & Mike
Ford F250 V10
2008 Copper Canyon 5er
Catalac Catamaran 34'
Full Time spliting time between boat and 5er


garyemunson

Reno, Nevada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/27/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/05/20 06:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The A/Cs are much more efficient now. 2 Will run just fine on 30 amps if you switch the fridge and water heater to gas for the hot part of the day and shut one off if you need to run the microwave. Quite doable if you want to stay comfortable. Put #2 on. You won't regret it!

Hemling

Montello, WI

Full Member

Joined: 06/05/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/20 06:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes it is wired for a 2nd above the kid's bunkhouse in the rear. Just never noticed it as much before since our last big trip we were getting to places later in the day and usually had some sort of shade. Sitting in the open sun for three days straight really pointed out the need. It's funny, because our salesman was obviously focused more on making a sale than upselling options. I remember asking him specifically if a 2nd unit was a necessity, and he told me not absolutely unless I loved to Florida or something. We had a good laugh. Then I moved to Florida.

Lwiddis

Near Mammoth, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/05/20 08:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

With everyone apparently running their A/C in the park, how was the voltage?


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)


prichardson

Lafayette, La

Senior Member

Joined: 10/31/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 07/05/20 08:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Do not close any vents.. An A/C needs a certain airflow to work properly and closing registers will restrict the amount of air flow thru the unit and lead to icing. Some systems have a register in the ceiling assy. (usually called a quick cool feature) that can be opened to add airflow in that area.

Retired JSO

North Georgia Mountains

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/05/20 08:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Add a second unit and wire it to plug into any 20 amp circuit. In the past, we have owned single A/C equipped trailers and had added a second unit. Both were wired into an adjoining closet or cabinet and down through the floor terminating with a male 15/20 amp plug. Just ran an extension to the pedestal 20 plug.





Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Large camper with single AC
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.