|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Modern 1/2 ton tow vehicle question

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Blazing Zippers

North Idaho

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 07/17/20 10:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm not an expert here, however, I will chime in;
Towing a long, large trailer at the top end of a 1/2 ton capacity wouldn't make for an enjoyable outing. 1st off, you have to nickel and dime all the weight in the tow vehicle. 2nd, the tow vehicle isn't going to have as highly rated tire system as a 3/4 ton.,3rd, the trailer contents would be a concern with regard to weight,ei beans, water, drinks, clothing, toys, etc. 4th, the cost of a 3/4 ton truck isn't all that much more than a smaller truck.
We own a 3/4 ton truck and have just jumped in and took off on a cross country trip with no regrets. Yes, gas is more than a 1/2 ton, but overall, the 3/4 ton is worth it just for the safety value.

Boomerweps

Hills of PA

View Profile

Posted: 07/18/20 08:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We'll See wrote:

JIMNLIN wrote:

Quote:

max tow is less.
It's really a false narrative;

Just part of your reply.... but I would agree on the F150 "max tow" option.
Just about every rv website we find where some poor soul bought into Ford "MAX TOW" options thinking it was the max tow even though their new F150 had the small 6800 GVWR and 3800 rawr package. Then found out the truck didn't have enough suspension to carry the load.
This happens a lot.