RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Inverter ?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Inverter ?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
jimbo4UT

Stafford Virginia

New Member

Joined: 07/26/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 06:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

1. When i stop for the day does the inverter automatically start working -Provided of course I am not hooked up to shore power?

2. Does the inverter run power to all electrical plugs like tv's lights, etc or are there designated electrical plugs that only the inverter sends power to?

thanks in advance,

Jim

garyemunson

Reno, Nevada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/27/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 06:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our 2015 Winne inverter must be turned manually. We can leave it on and power our fridge on electricity rather than gas but that's not a really heavy gas user. Depending on the size of inverter, everyone's use is probably different. I have not seen one that turns on automatically. The current scheme I've seen with newer RVs is that they default to installing one big enough for a residential fridge whether or not the RV has one. I suspect they do that to salvage sales that might not happen if the buyer wanted a residential instead of gas. Easier to swap the fridges out. We improved the functionality of ours by replacing the 2 12 volt "deep cycles" with 2 golf cart batteries. That let us use our microwave easily at lunch stops without firing up the generator and watch TV as long as we want at night when at dry camping locations.

Lwiddis

Mono Basin National Forest Scenic Area

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 07:49am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since inverters use some power when on but idle and you don’t need 110 volts all the time, I prefer throwing the switch when needed. Some RVs have all 110 plugs powered when the Inverter is on and some don’t. Run a test to determine if your’s does. Have you determined all the numbers regarding your battery capacity and 110 appliances running via the inverter?


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)


GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 07:58am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My inverter kicks in as soon as I disconnect from shore power, and switches to charging when I hook up again.

Hard to say what your setup is, automatic or manual.

As far as what outlets are connected, no way to tell from here. Maybe ask the previous owner, or hire an electrician.


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2020 RAM 1500, 5.7 4x4, 8 speed

Sjm9911

New Jersey

Full Member

Joined: 07/01/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 08:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

My inverter kicks in as soon as I disconnect from shore power, and switches to charging when I hook up again.

Hard to say what your setup is, automatic or manual.

As far as what plugs are connected, no way to tell from here. Maybe ask the previous owner, or hire an electrician.


You have an inverter in your TT? What do you power wirh it?


2012 kz spree 220 ks
2020 Silverado 2500
Equalizer ( because i have it)
Formerly a pup owner.

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 08:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sjm9911 wrote:



You have an inverter in your TT? What do you power wirh it?


Everything, mine is wired for "whole house". Most of my camping is off grid, and the inverter keeps everything up and running while minimizing generator use.

houstonstroker

Houston, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/26/20 08:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mine is always on unless I turn it off. It is also a "pass through" inverter. On shore power 120 volts AC passes through the inverter to several outlets. When shore power or the generator is turned off the inverter takes over until the batteries give out.


2016 Dynamax Force HD Super C

ajriding

st clair

Senior Member

Joined: 12/28/2004

View Profile



Posted: 07/26/20 08:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No way to know the answer.
need more info...

Inverters are usually turned on manually. Keeping them on all the time still uses electricity even if nothing is using the inverter for power, inverter draws power just being on, so keep it off until needed.

The way to know if it comes on automatically is to do a test. If it comes on then it is auto, if it needs to be turned on then it is manual. It is just that simple.

The following is assuuming yo have some soleniod switches, not a box that does it all electronically:

Automatic switches are typical for letting the "camper" choose to use generator power or to use household/shore power. Typically the default setting is for the electricity (120 household current, not 12v DC) to choose the generator setting, but when plugged into power the "switch" will choose shoreline power. Only one can be chosen and the reason is so that the generator does not get fed voltage when the camper is plugged into shoreline power (which would burn it up).

There is no reason an auto switch cannot be used to select inverter over another source of power. Any two sources of 120 household current can be wired into the selector switch and the switch will "prefer" one over the other depending which is connected to the "preferred" location.

To do 3 power sources you would have a switch that selects shoreline or generator, then you would have a switch that selects generator or inverter. The first switch would prefer shoreline power (or maybe prefer generator), and the 2nd switch would prefer generator (or shoreline). So if no shoreline power but there was generator power then it would switch to the generator side, but if the generator goes off (and the inverter is on) that 2nd switch would switch to the inverter.
If inverter is turned off then the switch would go back to the generator setting even if gen is off, and the 1st switch would go back to shoreline even if there is no shoreline power - those are the default settings.

Also, the inverter would need to be isolated from the AC unit and the refrigerator 120v circuit. Possible to keep the fridge on 120, but most likely you would want to save the batteries and use propane for the fridge as the fridge would kill batts pretty quick. Better to use 12v DC if you have to run the fridge off batteries, but that is just slightly better, it will still kill batteries... So the AC circuit will need to be on the shoreline/generator side of the switch in order to isolate it from the inverter. I'd have to ponder how to wire this for auto switches...
I had a camper set up to use all 3 voltage sources, but it was all manual. The circuit breaker was paired up to only have generator on while shore was off or it would turn gen off if shore was on. The inverter was on a switch that the outlets went through, but not the AC or fridge...

Unlikely you have such an elaborate system, but keep that in mind when looking your system over.

* This post was edited 07/26/20 08:29am by ajriding *

2oldman

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 09:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not sure how we would know. Have you plugged a few things in to see what happens? Coming back?

* This post was edited 07/26/20 11:33am by 2oldman *

wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/26/20 09:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Jim,

You will need to supply us with more information about what RV you have and what inverter or inverter/charger you have.

Unless you do, we will only be able to tell you how OUR RV is wired.


Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Inverter ?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.