RV.Net Open Roads Forum: General RVing Issues: Simple extension cord

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Simple extension cord

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
HighwayJunky

Crestview

Full Member

Joined: 05/31/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 05:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wife, wants to take our 42' MH to sisters home for a visit. Wants to use extension cord to simply run refrigerator keeping food safe. Otherwise we do our necessaries in the sisters home.

Really !! Can this be done?? How???


2015 Itasca Ellipse 42QD
2012 Fiat Pop Toad
One wife
No pets
No complaints
No Worries (except keeping wife happy!!)
Fulltime jobhttps://www.rv.net/SharedContent/cfb/images/rolleyes.gif

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/29/20 05:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Somewhat easy to do!
I am guessing you have a 50 amp detachable. If not I will revise what I show.
Big question is how far are you having to run cord?
A fifty amp twist lock to 15 amp Adapter
Now the cord minimum #12
This would keep your big cord in rig!
Non-detachable cord would use adapter Adapter


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


opnspaces

San Diego Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 05:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It should be as simple as an extension cord plugged into an outlet in the house. At the RV end use a 15 amp to 30 amp adapter. If you have a 50 amp rig plug a 50 to 30 amp adapter in.

Turn off the AC.


2001 Suburban 4x4. 6.0L, 4.10 3/4 ton
2005 Jayco Jay Flight 27BH
1986 Coleman Columbia Popup.

cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 05:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You need to purchase a 12 ga heavy duty extension cord. Also purchase a 15/30 dog bone. Amazon is your friend. You need to plug into a NON-GFI'ed circuit.

edited 9 pm

yes If you have a 50 amp rig. You need a 15/50 or a 30/50 + 15/30

* This post was edited 07/29/20 06:58pm by cavie *


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

Matt_Colie

Southeast Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 10/09/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 06:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As enblethen said, this is very do-able, but with a warning.

Set up the 6-15 to 14-50 (wall plug to RV) adapter and then go into your AC distribution panel and open the breakers for everything you don't need to leave powered up. That will be at least:
Power to all A/Cs
Power to the water heater
Galley power (Microwave, coffer maker and what all) If you can't separate these, PLUG THE plugs.

Be sure to leave power to the reefer and the converter.

It is almost a given that someone will try to use something that will pop that breaker if you leave power available.

Matt


Matt & Mary Colie
A sailor, his bride and their black dogs going to see some dry places that have Geocaches in a coach made the year we married.


DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 06:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If everything in the RV is up to snuff, there's no reason why a GFCI outlet shouldn't work fine, in the vast majority of cases at least. Most times when an RV trips a GFCI it's due to an actual problem somewhere: a neutral/ground short, or a leaky heating element in the fridge or water heater, or what have you.

(You need hundreds of feet of wiring for capacitive coupling to become sufficient to trip a GFCI, or maybe a dozen or so electronic devices with three prong plugs and RFI filters.)





cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 06:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

DrewE wrote:

If everything in the RV is up to snuff, there's no reason why a GFCI outlet shouldn't work fine, in the vast majority of cases at least. Most times when an RV trips a GFCI it's due to an actual problem somewhere: a neutral/ground short, or a leaky heating element in the fridge or water heater, or what have you.

(You need hundreds of feet of wiring for capacitive coupling to become sufficient to trip a GFCI, or maybe a dozen or so electronic devices with three prong plugs and RFI filters.)


As a master electrician Ii did side by side testing on my 2 trailers. It has also been verified by many others on different forums. Lots of times 2 GFI outlets in series do not play nice. Neither of my trailers would work on with 2 GFI's in series. Either turn off the RV gfi circuit or plug into a non gfi outlet and everything was fine.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/29/20 07:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

HighwayJunky wrote:

Wife, wants to take our 42' MH to sisters home for a visit. Wants to use extension cord to simply run refrigerator keeping food safe. Otherwise we do our necessaries in the sisters home.

Really !! Can this be done?? How???
Yes. Not even a big deal. Although I do recommend a cord with #12 wire. Up to 100' is fine.

Make sure the water heater is off or set to propane. Use all the lights you need.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/20 07:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I often do run from a single 15 amp shore power circuit. I have used up to 250 feet of #10 wire--but that is over kill for just the fridge and converter.

Another (more expensive) route is to have a hybrid inverter/charger that allows load support. I love mine and would recommend Victron or Outback.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

ajriding

st clair

Senior Member

Joined: 12/28/2004

View Profile



Posted: 07/29/20 08:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Or, pull the cover off the fridge outside door, unplug the fridge from the wall outlet and plug in your fridge to the extension cord. You will only have power to the fridge, but that is all you are wanting while you stay inside a house...

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Simple extension cord
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.