RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Dometic roof top a/c unit

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Dometic roof top a/c unit

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Rudyp

SAN DIEGO,CA

Full Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 09:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good day to all on RV.NET. I recently had a new A/C unit installed on our 5th wheel. We only used it 2-3 times. A couple of weeks ago we tried to use it however it would come on and blowing cold air for @ minutes to 5 minutes; problem is it would stop blowing air completely but the power would stay on.I rechecked the connections. I would turn off the unit at the termostat and wait a few minutes before trying to turn it on. You could hear it click inside the unit and wont turn on and you have to wait awhile longer before turning back on, but then same thing happen's. I called the shop that installed it and they said it could be one of two things that is wrong with it, !. I was told that it could be the Control Box (circuit) box in the AC unit or 2. It could be the thermostat... I asked doesnt the new AC unit come with a control box installed in it? They said no that they took the old one out of the old AC unit and installed it in the new unit... and that it is a seperate part... can some one enlightem me on this? thank you all in advance for the response/help.
Rudy P

jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 10:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Are you at home? Plugged into a standard wall outlet? How many amps is that wall outlet actually putting out?

Rudyp

SAN DIEGO,CA

Full Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 11:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jdc1, I was plugged in a 50amp.. Only had the one ac unit on ...

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 12:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As always, need a lot more info.

Brand Year model of unit
brand(Dometic) and MODEL of AC unit
WHAT type of AC tstat. CCC2 5 Button CCC 4 button CCC
HOW many roof AC units and if more than 1, WHICH zone was the new AC installed on. Also AC/HP or AC only. Doug

JTLance

Salem, Oregon

Full Member

Joined: 03/10/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 01:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Rudyp wrote:

Good day to all on RV.NET. I recently had a new A/C unit installed on our 5th wheel. We only used it 2-3 times. A couple of weeks ago we tried to use it however it would come on and blowing cold air for @ minutes to 5 minutes; problem is it would stop blowing air completely but the power would stay on.I rechecked the connections. I would turn off the unit at the termostat and wait a few minutes before trying to turn it on. You could hear it click inside the unit and wont turn on and you have to wait awhile longer before turning back on, but then same thing happen's. I called the shop that installed it and they said it could be one of two things that is wrong with it, !. I was told that it could be the Control Box (circuit) box in the AC unit or 2. It could be the thermostat... I asked doesnt the new AC unit come with a control box installed in it? They said no that they took the old one out of the old AC unit and installed it in the new unit... and that it is a seperate part... can some one enlightem me on this? thank you all in advance for the response/help.
Rudy P


I have a new Dometic A/C and the box in the A/C overhead area clicks like... A LOT! I have a feeling we have similar issues. I took mine all apart hoping to see a lousy ground but all I got was a really weird plastic 120vac connector vs wire nuts. I have no real info to add, but I would say your probably not alone. Sometimes my fan stops and the condenser pump is still running....the fan sometimes stops for 2-5 seconds when seconds later (while the compressor is still running) the fan will turn back on! Really odd.

Rudyp

SAN DIEGO,CA

Full Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 01:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dougrainer.. I understand what your saying,... my main question is if New Dometic AC units come with a connect box (circuit board) instaled in the unit or does one have to purchase it seperately???

Rudyp

SAN DIEGO,CA

Full Member

Joined: 02/20/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 01:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

JtLance, thks, yes it does seem like the same problem... Did you get it fixed? Im calling dometic now.. the wait on the phone is ridiculous...

JTLance

Salem, Oregon

Full Member

Joined: 03/10/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 01:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Tell Dometic the wiring is solid!!

https://www.dometic.com/assets/58/71/3315390_55871.pdf

This is the manual for mine....


The box is separate in the ceiling.

Mine is the 640310


I hate this website for adding pictures!!!


I sent you an instant message with my email...

jdc1

Rescue, Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/20 01:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

50A? That rules out low voltage problems.

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 09/14/20 07:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Low voltage could still be a problem
The OP did not mention that here In Southern calif
We had triple digit heat wave for two solid weeks, and high 90's before that
Labor day week end was 116°F plus fires


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Dometic roof top a/c unit
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.