RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Need New TV

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Need New TV

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
MURPHY55347

Savage, MINNESOTA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/15/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 10:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Beware newer Visio TV’s do not have a built in tuner so no over the air capability.

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 09/24/20 11:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A TV ? Without a tuner is Not A TV
It is only a Display , a monitor
Technically to be a television it has to be able to receive broadcasts

AFAIK Vizio makes both types, as do many other mfg


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


MURPHY55347

Savage, MINNESOTA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/15/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 12:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I agree with your assessment. Vizio P, M, and most E series have no tuners. Some model E and all series D have tuners.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 03:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MURPHY55347 wrote:

Beware newer Visio TV’s do not have a built in tuner so no over the air capability.


If they do not have a Built in Tuner then they are called Monitors. NOT Televisions.

By Federal mandate a TELEVISION sold in the USA after I think 2007 must have a ATSC tuner/decoder in it.. Most Televisions sold in the USA This Century or the decade preceding have QAM decoders (Digital cable) but and most can get NTSC (analog) but by law newer than 2007 (I think) have to do ATSC (modern over the air digital)>

ELEMENT TV has ATSC. and far as I know NTSC but not QAM. It's the only one that I know of that does not have QAM.

And yes I know what all those letters stand for (Quadrature Amplitude Modulation for QAM And National/American Television Standards Committee for the others)

Used to be I knew how to fix em. today.. generally not worth it.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


coolmom42

Middle Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 09:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would opt for a Roku device over the built-in apps on a TV. I've had both, and the Roku apps work MUCH better and get updated more often. You also have a ton more choices.

All you need to use a Roku is a HDMI port. If the TV has a powered USB, you can use that for the Roku power. Otherwise, the Roku needs a separate USB adapter for its power.


Single empty-nester in Middle TN, sometimes with a friend or grandchild on board

coolmom42

Middle Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 09:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MURPHY55347 wrote:

I agree with your assessment. Vizio P, M, and most E series have no tuners. Some model E and all series D have tuners.


Depends on the size, mostly.

IME smaller ones don't have tuners, but are great with devices like a Roku or Chromecast.

coolmom42

Middle Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/24/20 09:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MURPHY55347 wrote:

Beware newer Visio TV’s do not have a built in tuner so no over the air capability.


Some of them do.

If it's called a TV it has a tuner. If it's called a monitor/display, it does not have a tuner.

2oldman

Mecca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/29/20 06:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We hope these suggestions have been helpful, OP.

TechWriter

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 09/29/20 11:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

riltri wrote:

I have never replaced a tv in an RV. Any reason that a standard tv will not work?

If your new TV doesn't have a QAM tuner (sometimes called a "digital tuner"), then you won't be able to see TV programs coming from campgrounds with digital cable.

All new TVs must have OTA digital tuners (ATSC), but they aren't required to have QAM tuners.


2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP
Full Timer since May 2013
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/05/20 03:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Regarding TV/Tuner.. I once set up a video PAGING service for an event. Several televisions all fed by a RF driver fed by a VIC-20. During set up we were playing "The Loan Ranger" rebrodcast from a local TV station.. (Kind of good for a Vic-20 don't you think)

Actually the RF modulator was a VCR.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Need New TV
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.