RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: short in wiring

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > short in wiring

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
trm3650

Casper, Wyoming

New Member

Joined: 10/01/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 08:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

hello, newbie here. say i am working on my jayco, i keep blowing a 15 amp fuse at the convertor, it goes to the A/C unit and the furnace, and of course the wall thermostat.as soon as i put in a new fuse it pops real fast, sometimes it will work for a bit when we put a fuse in it. would anyone have any ideas on where to start

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 10/01/20 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello trm3650 and Welcome!

Post Brand/Model of A/C Unit and Furnace and type of thermostat

15A is MAIN DC for controls
Typically that FUSE would feed DC directly to furnace and it then gets triggered by DC back from thermostat to start furnace FAN
Some designs have the DC going to a control module in A/C Unit

SO Bran/Models will be helpful


** I grew up in Casper
Went to East Jr High, Dean Morgan Jr High, Natrona County High and then Kelly Walsh where I graduated (Dad was oilfield and we moved to/from/back to Casper a LOT!)


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

rockylarson

Jersey Shore

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 10:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My converter only charges my batteries. From there the 12 volts are sent wherever it is needed. The fuses on my converter protect it from miswiring and/or reverse polarity from the incoming 120.volt system.
Good Luck and stay safe.


Jan and Rocky
Volunteers for USFWS. 25 refuges with 8000 hrs ea since 2006. 2004 Allegro 30DA, Workhorse 8.1, Banks, 2012 Jeep Liberty Jet, Blue Ox Aladdin, Brake Buddy Advantage Select, 300 watts solar, 5 Optima group 31 AGM's, 2000watt Ames PSW inverter.


trm3650

Casper, Wyoming

New Member

Joined: 10/01/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 10:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A/C unit is coleman mach thermostat on wall is coleman also

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 10:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A picture of the fuse and its location may be useful, too.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

shastagary

minnesota

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 11:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

if you have a suburban furnace the wires have a plug in at the furnace unplug it and see if fuse still blows.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/01/20 11:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Stop blowing fuses and use a test light. When the light goes out you have removed the issue. Then you need to remove items systematically to identify where the problem exists. Easy to disconnect components to isolate the issue to be in the component or wire. Tracing an issue in the wire through inaccessible areas could prove difficult.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 10/01/20 11:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

trm3650 wrote:

A/C unit is coleman mach thermostat on wall is coleman also


OK.....
But do you know which coleman mach A/C Unit is?
How about thermostat....old analog (slide controls) or digital (push buttons)

Furnace Brand/Model
Does it have external removable access panel?
Does it only have access from inside RV?

Also Post the year/brand/model of your RV
Trailer, MH

Really trying to HELP but w/o some details it is just a shot on the dark and guesses

MFL

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 12:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

trm3650 wrote:

A/C unit is coleman mach thermostat on wall is coleman also


That info is a start, but as Old-Biscuit suggested, more details are needed. FYI...Old-Biscuit is very knowledgeable on these issues. You are lucky to have caught his attention. If you give the info needed, he is more likely than most, to help you solve this issue.

X2, welcome to the forum!

Jerry





trm3650

Casper, Wyoming

New Member

Joined: 10/01/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/01/20 12:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

black with slide switches on bottom, black model just says coleman mach on it

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > short in wiring
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.