RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Coachmen Santara, '94. 50 amps or 30 amps ?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Coachmen Santara, '94. 50 amps or 30 amps ?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Don Parrish

AZ

Full Member

Joined: 12/15/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 05:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Older gentleman comes to our mobile home park with his Coachmen coach. Thinks it's 50 amps. My coach experience is only 50 amps and
I doubt his suggestion of 50 amps. Electric cord for hook-up had been cut and poorly reattached. Turns out cord is three wire. Black-hot,
White-common, and Green-I assume to be a ground for "bonding".
Looks like 30 amps to me. I don't mind a quick rewire of our post box or I could "rent" him my short 50 amp to 30 amp "reducing" cord.
Am I missing something here or does my plan sound electrically correct? This person has intentions of remaining in place for some time. Worth it to me if he stays. (We do have a couple of other RV units in our park and I did accommodate another 30 amp but we did not have a wiring issue.)
Thanks for any thoughts. Don Parrish

Lwiddis

Camping near Pearsonville, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 05:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Pictures of TT electrical connection please. 30 vs. 50 is obvious.

Concerned, however, that an RV park owner or manager needs to ask this basic, actually fundamental, question.


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 10/15/20 05:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Look at the cord male end coming from the rig.
If it has three pins, it is 30 amp. If it has four pins it is 50 amps.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


Lwiddis

Camping near Pearsonville, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Exactly, enblethen., but RV park owner or manager didn’t know this.

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sanatara was not a single model of RV, but a somewhat diverse line that Coachmen produced. My '98 Coachman Santara 315QB (a class C model) has a 30A AC electric system.

I'd look at the electric panel in the RV. If the main breaker is a single pole 30A breaker, it's a 30A RV. If the main breaker is a 50A two pole breaker, it's a 50A RV. A 30A electric system would not be at all surprising.





cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 06:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

3 wires is 30 mamps. Do not let him hook to 50 amps. Sombody will get hurt!!!

4 wires is 50 amps.


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

Nick-B

Vaughn, WA

Full Member

Joined: 06/18/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/15/20 10:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

1994 Santara Class A is only 30 amp. Same as my '95.


Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara MB360 w/slide
F53/460 chassis w/tag


rlw999

Washington State

New Member

Joined: 08/19/2020

View Profile



Posted: 10/15/20 11:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't understand why you're asking - the end of his power cable should either have a 3 pin 30A plug (one round pin, two angled flat blades), or a 4 pin 50A plug (one round pin plus 3 parallel blades).

That alone should tell you what service he needs. If he has a 30A plug but tells you he needs the receptacle to have a 50A breaker, don't do it since you're on the hook for any damage it causes. Let him put a 50A plug on his own power cable if he's sure he needs 50A.

Don Parrish

AZ

Full Member

Joined: 12/15/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/16/20 07:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rlw999
Reading your response, I see the reasonable answer to my question/problem. You are most correct...I was making his problem, my problem. My problem solved. Thank you. Don Parrish

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 10/16/20 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Don Parish:
I would be careful about any modifications of pedestal that does not follow NEC.
Shore power "modifications" on a rig could potentially damage your system.
I have seen coaches where a RV repair facility attached a 50 amp cord to a three conductor shore power cord.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Coachmen Santara, '94. 50 amps or 30 amps ?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.