|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> New to RV'ing, need a new vehicle

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
aquariafly

Ontario

View Profile

Posted: 10/16/20 06:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hey all,

So we are looking into getting into camping a bit more and hoping to buy a travel trailer. First step we need to upgrade our vehicle since I'll be using this vehicle as a daily driver I want something sorta comfy and with seats to haul the family around. We were looking at VW Atlas, Highlander or Telluride. The max tow is 5000lb (with tow package and all). (Not looking at pick-ups)

We were hoping to get a small hybrid trailer like the Jayco Jayfeather X17Z or Surveyor 191T.

These are both around 3300lb. We'd be carrying 4-5 people max in the car + gear. Longest drive would be 4-5 hrs, mostly flat.

So I just want to see how realistic this setup would be. We would get all the necessary safety mods like weight distribution, electronic trailer brakes.

Anyone else using an SUV to tow a small trailer? Thank you all for the feedback and help in this decision.

beemerphile1

Ohio

View Profile

Posted: 10/16/20 06:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You will seriously regret buying any tow vehicle that is rated for 5000 or less and then towing a TT.

For starters, keep in mind that everyone and all weight in the tow vehicle subtracts from what you can tow. The passengers, gear, and tongue weight of the trailer will put you over the vehicle payload very quickly.

Build a life you don't need a vacation from.