RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Fridge issue

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Fridge issue

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Cougargm

NE PA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/06/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 07:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We overloaded our generator and while the genny was running, nothing was working. Simply hit the reset and everything worked- except the fridge & furnace. Found a blown fuse, replaced it and the furnace worked fine. Unfortunately the fridge still isn't working. Unplugged it for awhile, hoping it would start once plugged in again, but nothing. It won't turn on at all, so I can't even pick LP mode let alone electric. Any suggestions as to what I should try or look for next? THanks in advance!

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 07:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Make and model of the fridge might help us help you better. Are you getting 12 volts at the fridge?


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


Cougargm

NE PA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/06/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 07:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It's a Norcold. The Class C is 15 yrs old and I believe the fridge is as well. (not original owner). I haven't checked the voltage but it won't power on at all, as I can't even select LP or AC for the mode.

Vw triker

Millboro, va

New Member

Joined: 07/22/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 08:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Reset gfi's maybe?

Cougargm

NE PA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/06/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 08:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I only found one GFI in the RV and that was in the bathroom. Reset that but it didn't help.

rk911

DuPage County

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 08:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

we had a second gfci in an exterior storage compartment in a previous MH. check again.


Rich
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot
_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK

& MaggieThe Wonder Beagle

agesilaus

North Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/17/20 08:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OK I'm fgoing thru the same issue on my N821 Norcold (2016) w/o a power surge tho. If it is like mine there are two circuit boards, one on the front of the fridge thaqt has the display and switches called the eyebrow panel. And one in the outside access area in a black plastic box. That one has two fuses and if you are lucky one of those is blown. So check that out first thing.

I still have not fixed mine, after possibly eliminating all else it seemed to be the eyebrow panel but I ordered one from Amazon and it does not fix the fridge. Some I'm still stumped. That was $160 but is returnable.

There are other possibilities so let us know if it is not the fuses.


Arctic Fox 25Y Travel Trailer
2012 Ford F-350 4WD Lariat 6.7L
Straightline dual cam hitch
400W Solar with Victron controller
Superbumper


craig7h

Branson MO area

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2002

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/18/20 03:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you have found and reset the GFI's get a meter and see if you are getting power to the 120v outlet the frig is plugged into. Lets say you have power at the outlet.

You will need to take off the black cover from the control board for the frig. It should be located on the back side of the frig, but you can get to it through the outside access panel. The control panel will have two fuses one being a long one and the other a push in type. Sorry I do not know the correct name for the two types of fuses. Check them make sure they are both good. You did not say if you reset the breaker for the frig on the breaker panel. You may want to check that, turn it off then back on. Good Luck


Itasca Meridian SE 36g
Road Master Tow Dolly

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/18/20 03:58am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It's a BATTERY DC ISSUE. Meaning anywhere from the battery to and through the control board.UNPLUG FOR SAFETY. Then go outside to the access panel and check 12 volt wire going into refrigerator. Does it have power?

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 10/18/20 06:58am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Look closer for model number.
Does it have a circuit board in the outside access?
Does the interior display light up?
How is the unit changed from gas to electric, Knob or switch?


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Fridge issue
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.