RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: New thermostat question?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > New thermostat question?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
notsobigjoe

southeast

Full Member

Joined: 09/15/2016

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/19/20 03:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My Lance 1181 came with a Atwood hydro flame 38535 dual stage thermostat and I see that is is no longer available. I have looked but I am not a digital kind of guy. I simply don't know what to get. Would this model work?

Coleman 8330-3862 83303862 Digital Thermostat

can be found here,

https://colemanmachac.com/coleman-mach-wall-thermostat-8330-3862/

* This post was edited 11/19/20 04:11pm by notsobigjoe *

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 11/19/20 04:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I changed mine out to one of these. Lux


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


notsobigjoe

southeast

Full Member

Joined: 09/15/2016

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/19/20 04:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can use a home model in an RV? Isn't mine 12 volt? Like I said, no clue...
Thanks, Joe

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 11/19/20 05:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, any low voltage thermostat.
I just have to remember to change batteries.

towpro

Compass PA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/08/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/19/20 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

the digital display home type will run off batteries inside the thermostat. Just keep some spares with you. I think I would get a year out of a set.


Forest River Forester 2401R Mercedes Benz.

Sold: 2016 Arctic Fox 990, 2018 Ram 3500, 2011 Open Range

notsobigjoe

southeast

Full Member

Joined: 09/15/2016

View Profile


Online
Posted: 11/20/20 05:01am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks very much. That gives many more options.

jimh425

Western MT

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/20/20 06:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Keep in mind that unless you put exactly the same type as someone else with the same setup, and follow their instructions, there may be some trial/error to figure out which wires do what. Of course, if you can replace with the same brand, it’s also probably going to be easier.

Not that hard, but just a heads up.

I went with a digital that has a huge display and light. Then, I can adjust the heat at high in the dark without putting on reading glasses.


'10 Ford F-450, 6.4, 4.30, 4x4, 14,500 GVWR, '06 Host Rainer 950 Dbl Slide, Torklift Talon tiedowns, Glow Steps, and Fastguns. Bilstein 4600s, Firestone Air Bags, Hankook DH-01 225/19.5 Fs, Curt front hitch, Energy Suspension bump stops.


mbloof

Beaverton, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 11/27/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/20/20 06:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The thermostat on most RV furnaces is a simple two wire interface.

Just about any 2-wire thermostat will work as a replacement of the stock unit.


- Mark0.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 11/20/20 07:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Your old thermostat should have identification as to the wire terminals. Take photo. The new thermostat should have tape style markers for wires. Mark the wires as to the function location from old thermostat.
OP says he has a dual stage thermostat.

okanstar

placerville

New Member

Joined: 12/26/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/20/20 11:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Make sure it can be turned off , or to another mode like ac . Or the fan will run if the temp falls below the lowest temp setting .Or at least disconnect battery's when not used .

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > New thermostat question?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.