RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Newmar response

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
fuzzyface

Polk City, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 07/15/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 11:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A quick search on Amazon turned up this result:


https://smile.amazon.com/s?k=tone+wire+tracer&ref=nb_sb_noss_1


Linda and Mike Kruzin' in a Kountry Star

robatthelake

Vancouver Island

Senior Member

Joined: 08/24/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 11:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Any luck?


Rob & Jean
98 Dutch Star Diesel Pusher ..07 Honda CRV AWD


MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 11:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fuzzyface wrote:

A quick search on Amazon turned up this result:


https://smile.amazon.com/s?k=tone+wire+tracer&ref=nb_sb_noss_1



Thanks, faster than I.

Gene

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 11:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What do you mean 5 Junction boxes? Are you talking about the Freightliner/Sparten black boxes? If so, these have NOTHING to do with the Ignition key activated Dash accessories. The system that activates the Newmar Dash Accessories is NEWMAR installed as well as the Solenoid/relay. On your year model, you should have a Plexiglas covered Fuse/Relay panel above the Genset. This is the area of these controls you need fixed. HOW CAN YOU STATE RELAY'S/SOLENOIDS HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND ALL OPERATE?. Obviously the Acc solenoid is NOT operating. Either it is bad(stuck open) or the power wire to it has a blown fuse. The fuse is usually at the drivers area inside fuse block(frtliner or sparten). SOME models the Dash Chassis Fuse block is also inside that plexiglas covered panel. Doug

Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/06/20 12:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dougrainer wrote:

What do you mean 5 Junction boxes? Are you talking about the Freightliner/Sparten black boxes? If so, these have NOTHING to do with the Ignition key activated Dash accessories. The system that activates the Newmar Dash Accessories is NEWMAR installed as well as the Solenoid/relay. On your year model, you should have a Plexiglas covered Fuse/Relay panel above the Genset. This is the area of these controls you need fixed. HOW CAN YOU STATE RELAY'S/SOLENOIDS HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND ALL OPERATE?. Obviously the Acc solenoid is NOT operating. Either it is bad(stuck open) or the power wire to it has a blown fuse. The fuse is usually at the drivers area inside fuse block(frtliner or sparten). SOME models the Dash Chassis Fuse block is also inside that plexiglas covered panel. Doug


Common relays are not brain surgery. they are easy to show works or not, these all work when tested
the Newmar module you speak of was replaced.. simply ... it is not being turn on.
there are two 10 gauge wires labeled battery and ignition the battery shows 12 volts when the key is turned on. the ignition never shows 12volts either position Acc/IGN. the diesel runs fine.


2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JL toad.

Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/06/20 12:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MountainAir05 wrote:

fuzzyface wrote:

A quick search on Amazon turned up this result:


https://smile.amazon.com/s?k=tone+wire+tracer&ref=nb_sb_noss_1



Thanks, faster than I.

Gene

Thanks guy/gals
It is on order.
Now I must learn to use it [emoticon]

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 01:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Tom/Barb wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

fuzzyface wrote:

A quick search on Amazon turned up this result:


https://smile.amazon.com/s?k=tone+wire+tracer&ref=nb_sb_noss_1



Thanks, faster than I.

Gene

Thanks guy/gals
It is on order.
Now I must learn to use it [emoticon]


just a tip. Find the wire you want to trace and ensure you disconnect the power to the circuit 12 volt or AC. Then connect one wire to the wire tracing and the other to a ground. You will be surprise how you did without one.

Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/06/20 02:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MountainAir05 wrote:

just a tip. Find the wire you want to trace and ensure you disconnect the power to the circuit 12 volt or AC. Then connect one wire to the wire tracing and the other to a ground. You will be surprise how you did without one.


Home-depot shows one,, not in this store.

ordering one from Amazon [emoticon]

Is there a good one or ?

Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/06/20 02:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dougrainer wrote:

On your year model, you should have a Plexiglas covered Fuse/Relay panel above the Genset. This is the area of these controls you need fixed.


I know the area in the nose cap, there are 3 boxes, which relay do you think is at fault.

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/06/20 03:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Tom/Barb wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

just a tip. Find the wire you want to trace and ensure you disconnect the power to the circuit 12 volt or AC. Then connect one wire to the wire tracing and the other to a ground. You will be surprise how you did without one.


Home-depot shows one,, not in this store.

ordering one from Amazon [emoticon]

Is there a good one or ?


I only use Fluke so can't help on any others.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.