RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Dometic Fridge Problem in a brand new unit

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Dometic Fridge Problem in a brand new unit

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Retired JSO

North Georgia Mountains

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2009

View Profile



Posted: 12/31/20 08:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The Forest River site has a Dynamax Rep member that responds to questions about his products.





2oldman

south

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 12/31/20 01:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am really hoping this isn't a drive-by post.

MFL

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/31/20 01:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

I am really hoping this isn't a drive-by post.


A recent consensus, seems to require a minimum of 3 days for OP to return, and a bit more due to a Holiday between.

Jerry





sdtravis

Encinitas

New Member

Joined: 12/30/2020

View Profile



Posted: 12/31/20 01:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not a drive-by post!

Thanks all for your suggestions on this thread so far.

@2oldman and @2112: Agree, regulators fail but I wouldn't assume they'd fail so intermittently. I get full pressure on the stove at all times.

@newmanfulltimer: Moisture freezing not really possible in San Diego where we live pretty close to the ocean (41F at night). Though, a theory I was playing with did have something to do with the quality of the propane. This unit came from TX where they may have filled it with a mixture that the fridge isn't happy with for some reason. On your second comment, yes voltage and ground confirmed. Air obstruction is still a little unclear on how to test that, wouldn't having run all of the appliances including furnace, stove, etc just naturally purge that out?

@opnspaces: No yellow powder visible

@wa8yxm: Checked for the drain tube, in place where it should be. Good suggestion though.

@jkwilson: Also a good suggestion on a manometer. This is my third RV so just sort of looking at the pressure coming out of the stove, it seems like plenty, especially considering what's needed for the fridge. Furnace also works well which consumes at a much higher rate.

@Old-Biscuit: Spark electrode is definitely suspect if in fact it returns a "hey a flame is present" to the control board. The error documentation on this leaves a lot to be desired, so based on my assumption those errors listed 1-3 aren't what I'm experiencing given both LP + temp flash (variably based on the setting, versus constant to the error). How would I know if that electrode is bad? A bad gap might also be a culprit too but would need to check the spec on that.

@Retired JSO: Correct, Dynamax is very responsive on their issues but given this is a Dometic issue vs the coach at this point they're deferring that back to the refer mfg.

Love the good ideas here. Will be taking the Isata out for the weekend to test it out and hopefully will have some more data to share.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 12/31/20 02:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sdtravis wrote:



@Old-Biscuit: Spark electrode is definitely suspect if in fact it returns a "hey a flame is present" to the control board. The error documentation on this leaves a lot to be desired, so based on my assumption those errors listed 1-3 aren't what I'm experiencing given both LP + temp flash (variably based on the setting, versus constant to the error). How would I know if that electrode is bad? A bad gap might also be a culprit too but would need to check the spec on that.


YES...spark electrode IS used for 'Flame Proving'
**Goggle -- Flame Rectification to see how

In the LINK i posted is the correct gap for spark electrode and position over burner
Pg 17

You can unplug it from transformer on the circuit board and check continuity

You can visually inspect the ceramic for any cracking...signal will go to ground vs returning to circuit board

You can physically check that the wire is not loose in the ceramic insulator
(High voltage can/does pass but milliamp current is easy to stop)

If flame has been incorrect ....fuel rich...then soot/carbon could be on electrode (clean it off with light sanding)


OTHER good info in that LINK also


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

2oldman

south

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 01/01/21 09:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

sdtravis wrote:


@2oldman and @2112: Agree, regulators fail but I wouldn't assume they'd fail so intermittently. I get full pressure on the stove at all times.
Refers consume much less propane, which requires much less gas flow, which *may* be an issue with the regulator. You might try the stove with just a trickle.

GDS-3950BH

DC

Senior Member

Joined: 12/08/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/02/21 08:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Retired JSO wrote:

The Forest River site has a Dynamax Rep member that responds to questions about his products.


The Forest River site also has lots of posts/threads about that DMR-702 model fridge being garbage in a lot of cases. Its the first model that Dometic had the entire fridge outsourced to China and then slapped their name on it. They call it the Renaissance Series, perhaps the Junk series would be more appropriate? Dometic today is not the Dometic of 10 years ago. They took lessons from from LCI.

sdtravis

Encinitas

New Member

Joined: 12/30/2020

View Profile



Posted: 01/06/21 02:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GDS-3950BH wrote:

Retired JSO wrote:

The Forest River site has a Dynamax Rep member that responds to questions about his products.


The Forest River site also has lots of posts/threads about that DMR-702 model fridge being garbage in a lot of cases. Its the first model that Dometic had the entire fridge outsourced to China and then slapped their name on it. They call it the Renaissance Series, perhaps the Junk series would be more appropriate? Dometic today is not the Dometic of 10 years ago. They took lessons from from LCI.


Its a very fair point, and I've read the same thing unfortunately.

The good news is that I can't reproduce the behavior whatsoever, so crossing fingers there may have been air in the line or something similar. Will post back if I find more info or come up with a solve.

Thanks everyone for your input on this.

sdtravis

Encinitas

New Member

Joined: 12/30/2020

View Profile



Posted: 01/12/21 02:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

An update that adds to some of the mystery. I placed several cameras to get a better view of what happens when the fridge shuts down in the middle of the night and have a few interesting findings.

From the camera I put inside the exterior compartment, the fridge is running perfectly with plenty of flame then a loud click is heard (solenoid valve shutting) and the flame shuts down. There is NO attempt to relight the flame.

Two seconds later, the fridge starts displaying the error lights on the front panel.

If I close the valve on the propane or blow out the flame, the fridge automatically goes through 3 attempts at relight. In this instance the fridge is shutting itself down and not relighting which means its not likely to be an LP supply issue.

AllegroD

Outdare

Senior Member

Joined: 05/13/2003

View Profile



Posted: 01/12/21 07:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Under warranty!

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Dometic Fridge Problem in a brand new unit
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.