RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: winegard automatic swm3 antenna

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > winegard automatic swm3 antenna

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/26/21 05:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mikestock wrote:

The connector at the LNB was clean as a whistle . The one at the box was a little corroded. I scrapped the center wire with a knife and Deoxed all of it. Didn't work. There are 3 coax connections in the base. Is it possible they are interchangeable? Thanks.

Just FYI, it's never a good idea to scrape the center wire. The signal travels on the surface of the wire and you want that wire to remain as smooth as possible.
As to the other leads, yes, coax is coax. If you really have the SK-SWM3 antenna you should only have 1 wire that leads from the SWM LNB to the base. Where are these other coax cables? Any coax can be used to test if that cable is bad. Even a spare 50 footer sitting around somewhere.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 01/26/21 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dapperdan wrote:

I haven't had a chance to look. Did this cable have regular RG6 connectors on both ends?

My dish would turn completely over lake a saucer, make a complete 360 search with the lnb arm pointed straight up and then return to the stow position. Was your experience similar?

Did you get CS help from Winegard? "

Our dish operates the same as yours. I didn't notice any corrosion on either end of that short cable I replaced. To be honest the faulty cable didn't "look" bad but obviously was. I managed to be able to use my "homemade" cable for a little while but I made it a bit too short and eventually that one failed. The replacement has been working great ever since. [emoticon]

I didn't have the luck you had. The replacement cable made no difference. I talked to Winegard CS and I will have to pack up the turret and return it to Iowa. Repair will be a flat fee of $350. I pay shipping there and they pay return shipping. The turret weighs about 50 lbs.

As to those other connections on the base you'd have to call Winegard and ask them, I have NO idea if they'd work or not. I reconnected the replacement cable to the same terminal on the base.


Dan


mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 01/26/21 06:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dapperdan wrote:

I haven't had a chance to look. Did this cable have regular RG6 connectors on both ends?

My dish would turn completely over lake a saucer, make a complete 360 search with the lnb arm pointed straight up and then return to the stow position. Was your experience similar?

Did you get CS help from Winegard? "

Our dish operates the same as yours. I didn't notice any corrosion on either end of that short cable I replaced. To be honest the faulty cable didn't "look" bad but obviously was. I managed to be able to use my "homemade" cable for a little while but I made it a bit too short and eventually that one failed. The replacement has been working great ever since. [emoticon]Dan


I didn't have the luck you had. The replacement cable made no difference. I talked to Winegard CS and I will have to pack up the turret and return it to Iowa. Repair will be a flat fee of $350. I pay shipping there and they pay return shipping. The turret weighs about 50 lbs.

As to those other connections on the base you'd have to call Winegard and ask them, I have NO idea if they'd work or not. I reconnected the replacement cable to the same terminal on the base.

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 01/26/21 06:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

Just FYI, it's never a good idea to scrape the center wire. The signal travels on the surface of the wire and you want that wire to remain as smooth as possible.
As to the other leads, yes, coax is coax. If you really have the SK-SWM3 antenna you should only have 1 wire that leads from the SWM LNB to the base. Where are these other coax cables? Any coax can be used to test if that cable is bad. Even a spare 50 footer sitting around somewhere.


Yes, I "really" have a SWM3 Traveler. I made a new 5-1/2' RG6 jumper. That made no difference. When I say I scrapped, the center I only applied enough pressure to clean the brown corrosion. I really didn't expect it to work. I'm aware that the signal travels on the outer surface just like electric current. That's why multi-stranded wire will carry more current than the equivalent amount of copper in a single strand.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/27/21 05:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You should not be dealing with any cable that's only 5 1/2" long. The problem is usually the coax that runs inside the arm up to the LNB. It's likely 3 feet long or so an runs from the LNB, inside the arm, through a clamp on the arm and then into the top of the base.

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 01/27/21 06:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill. It's (') not (").Put your glasses on.

mikestock

Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2002

View Profile



Posted: 02/11/21 03:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, Finally sent my turret to Winegard and just got it back. Weather hasn't allowed me to reinstall but the total cost to me, including one way shipping was $364 plus $88. I was 2-1/2 months out of warranty. The failure was sudden. It worked perfectly until it didn't. No event, such as lightning or physical contact happened. It worked, I drove to another site and it didn't work.

I don't know who Winegard has as a competitor but I would try them if I had a do-over. May be better but not worse, IMO.

* This post was edited 02/11/21 04:07pm by mikestock *

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/11/21 04:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Their only competitor is RF Mogul (the former MotoSAT folks). It's more expensive, and they still have problems, but they will ship you the parts and you can install them yourself. They have very few dealers but if you travel to any of the warm weather destinations favored by RVers you will likely find a dealer within a few minutes or a few hours drive.

Carl n Susan

Carmichael, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/12/21 11:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As a RF Mogul customer I found them to be terrific to deal with. They do have local people who do installs. And the price, installed, was $1850- less than what Winegard wanted. I boondock a lot and wanted the controller to be 12V powered. After talking to the support folks, no problem. The 120V normal supply is converted to 12V anyway and a direct 12V connect is fine. No need to fire up the generator or inverter to get the antenna up and running.

The support folks in Salt Lake City are easy to contact and work with you through any problem. Try that with Winegard. Plus if parts are required, they ship them to you if that is what you want. One additional feature is they use a standard LNB (in my case DirecTV) so replacing it is inexpensive and easy.

There are 6 of us in our camping group and all but one now use the RF Mogul.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > winegard automatic swm3 antenna
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.