RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Autosocks (chain replacements) Experience

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Autosocks (chain replacements) Experience

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
brholt

Seattle

View Profile

Posted: 01/28/21 07:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have been carrying a set of Autosocks for 7+ years now in case I needed to ”chain up” and to satisfy the requirements of carrying chains on some passes. Since they weigh so little and take up so little space I just keep them in the truck all the time. Up to now I have never had to use them.

We are in a 7,000 mile trip heading home and stopped at a Harvest Host farm in the California Mountains. The day before we arrived they had a lot of snow dumped on them (California 58 was closed) but when we arrived it was sunny and 40 degrees. The long driveway was covered in snow with a cow path from a few vehicles. We had no problem with our F350 DRW carrying an AF1150 making it through the snow to our parking place.

That night it rained a little and then the temperature dipped to 20 degrees. By morning it had risen to 33 degrees. Not surprisingly the driveway out was very icy and when I went to check it out I had trouble walking on it, especially the long uphill segment. I was very concerned if I could make it up even in 4 wheel low gear.