|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> New F350 owner seeks TC information

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Next
Sponsored By:
F-350shortBed

Natividad Medical Center

View Profile

Posted: 02/05/21 01:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a 2000 F350, crew cab, shortbed in order to acquire a TC so that I can avoid the hour commute to and from work. I am an ICU nurse, things have been very busy lately so I have been picking up a lot of extra shifts. Also had a few mandated 16hour days and shifts.

I come seeking knowledge on selecting the appropriate camper which I would like to purchase used. I have been expanding my search since I recently learned a lot of people mount longer TC's on 1 ton shortbed trucks with airbags and beefier shocks/springs. This opens up my options, plus I have a family id like to take on the road someday and having more space would be nice.

The truck I bought has 6" lift, airbags, heavier springs, shocks, and lower gears. The guy i bought it from towed a 5th wheel with it. It also has a shift kit and it's a diesel.

I hope this topic isn't oppressively beat to death already, there are some dead posts I've read which still leave me with questions like:

How do i figure out the COG on certain models like: 2014 Arctic fox 811; 97' Bigfoot 3000 series; etc...?

Also, should I install tie down mounts now or after I find my TC? I kinda want to drive away with it the day I buy it, but who knows? I'm leaning towards torklift, i often camp down in Baja on 4x4 type roads (when there is no pandemic.)