|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

> Towing Capacity Question

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
RoyJ

Vancouver, BC

View Profile

Posted: 02/16/21 09:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kbucky wrote:

Please forgive as I am a complete newbie to all of this. I have a 2018 Dodge Durango SRT with a towing capacity of 8700 lbs. We are looking at a camper that is 5,900 lbs dry weight.

Obviously that falls within the 8,700 but I know there is a lot more involved than just that. My max weight for passengers and cargo is 1,200 lbs.

Assuming my family takes up 500 lbs of that and the hitch weight of the camper is 682 lbs I am pushing the top end correct? (Did I calculate that correctly?)

Looking for opinions from seasoned campers if this setup looks ok or am I over doing the capabilities of my Durango? Of course the sales guy says I will be fine but I take what he says with a grain of salt!

Personally I think you're safe. What makes a good tow truck:

- stiff suspension. SRT, check
- over-built braking system, check
- stiff tire sidewall, check
- strong powertrain, check

Pump up your tires to near max psi if it feels better. I know, load tables... Look, on the race track all factory psi / load tables are thrown out.

Throw the spare tire into the trailer if you're down to the last few lbs of payload.

Look at it this way, my 1500 Ram tows 10k lbs. The SRT is stronger and more stable than the soft sprung Ram in every single way.

Huntindog

Phoenix AZ

View Profile

Posted: 02/17/21 03:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

kbucky wrote: