RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 50 amp RV outlet

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50 amp RV outlet

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
grizz272

frozen tundra, WI

Senior Member

Joined: 07/27/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 11:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 240 vac 50 amp plug for a welder a previous owner had installed in my garage. I just checked the plug. I have 2 load lines a common wire and a ground wire.
Is there any reason I could not replace that plug with a 50 amp RV out let?

Right now if I just used the existing wiring the outlet would have to be at least 6 ft up on the side of the garage. I can put a box in and drop a wire down so the rv outlet would be lower

Darn it, the wife just told me it is snowing again. I just shoveled the side walk. Heavy wet snow and it is 34 degrees.

PastorCharlie

NC

Senior Member

Joined: 03/28/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 11:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Same wires just change out to RV receptible. Make sure of correct wiring connection.

wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 12:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yup, as long as there is a neutral in addition to the two hots and ground, you are good to go (wired to the correct RV style outlet.


Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

Roger10378

Goodrich, MI.

Senior Member

Joined: 05/29/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 12:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It is probably even easier than pastor said. If it is NEMA 14-60 it is the same. Just make sure that it is wired correctly. the ground is the rounded pin. Neutral is opposite the ground, and the 2 pins on either side are power.


2005 Cardinal 30TS
2007 Chevy 2500HD D/A

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 04/21/21 12:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

PastorCharlie wrote:

Same wires just change out to RV receptible. Make sure of correct wiring connection.


Not quite "the same".

240V stick welders do not have a neutral wire and that is a big deal concerning a RV.

50A stick welders only need the two "hots" and a safety ground and more often than not when that outlet was installed no neutral wire was run, there was no need for it and therefor no need to spend more than needed. Typically welder outlets have been wired using 6ga-2 with 8ga ground..

Looks like this..

[image]

The white wire will be repurposed for a Hot by taping up the exposed white insulation with black tape (one of a couple exceptions that are typically allowed)..

Right about now you are thinking why not just use the ground wire as the neutral, it terminates at the same spot as a neutral in the main breaker panel? Right?

Technically you are correct, however, electrically it is a bad idea as the ground wire that is run typically will be one or several wire ga size smaller and will not handle the full 50A without overheating.

Additionally, you would now have a voltage and current running on a wire that may not have electrical insulation if Romex was used creating a potential hazard..

If OP does not have a "spare" unused wire (white) in the outlet box, then they will need to replace the existing Romex wire with proper Romex that includes a white wire for neutral plus ground.

In the case of 50A RV setup, you would need 6 ga-3 with 8 ga ground.

Looks like this..

[image]

Now you have the obvious question, why can't I just run a separate neutral (white)?

Technically you would be correct but last time I checked it was not allowed by electrical codes, kind of doubt that it has been made an exception..

If OPs wire is conduit and the conduit is sized large enough then they might be able to run a neutral.. If conduit is not large enough then they would need to replace conduit or run new Romex..

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile



Posted: 04/21/21 01:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

grizz272 wrote:

I have a 240 vac 50 amp plug for a welder a previous owner had installed in my garage. I just checked the plug. I have 2 load lines a common wire and a ground wire.


Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 04/21/21 01:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ScottG wrote:

grizz272 wrote:

I have a 240 vac 50 amp plug for a welder a previous owner had installed in my garage. I just checked the plug. I have 2 load lines a common wire and a ground wire.


[emoticon]

Missed that, OP will however need to check the breaker panel to verify the "common" which should be white and called a neutral is indeed connected to the neutral buss in the panel..

Otherwise, as I mentioned, not all welder installations will have a neutral (white) wire run.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 03:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

While it is true that stick welders do not NEEDE a neutral.... no reason on earth not to have all 4 leads at the outlet You just leave the neutral N/C when it gets to the inside of the welder.... True the cord and install costs bit more but that's the only reason not to do it. And in this case even that's not a reason as you can use a 3 wire cord and just a leave the 4th pin (Top blade) N/C at the plug..


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 03:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My 50A welder is three prong. Four wires available change to proper 4 hole receptacle.


2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/21/21 05:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As long as you have the 4 wires and the 50 amp 240 breaker already in place, all you need is a standard NEMA 14-50 receptacle, the same one used by many ranges and other 50 amp 240 volt appliances.


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50 amp RV outlet
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.