RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Satellite Pre-Wiring

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Satellite Pre-Wiring

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
CarnationSailor

Carnation,WA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/23/21 10:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 2015 Crossroads Rushmore Springfield and am trying to understand how it is pre-wired for satellite. (I want to add an RF Mogul Eagle permanent-mounted antenna on the roof and connect it to a Dish Hopper 3 receiver.)

There are 2 coax jacks on the roof. Does one go to the entertainment center and one to the bedroom?

In the entetainment center, there are 3 coax cables in the cabinet above the TV. I assume one would attach to the receiver's input, but since the receiver's output is HDMI, what are the other 2 used for? (Maybe back in 2015 the receiver's output would have been coax?)

There are 2 coax connections behind the TV. One goes to the antenna/cable TV input. Was the other intended to connect the TV to the satellite system? That is, does it connect to one of the 3 coax cables in the cabinet above?

In the bedroom, there are 2 currently-unused coax jacks. Are they part of the satellite system pre-wiring. (Neither the jacks behind the TV or in the bedroom are labeled.)

Any thoughts on this will be appreciated.

Thanks


2015 Crossroads Rushmore Springfield
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax


DS Canuck

Home address

New Member

Joined: 04/23/2021

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/23/21 10:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You may be able to obtain a wiring diagram from the coach maker.

Failing that trial and error is your only real option.

In our coach which is n old 1998 Dutchstar everything was labeled from the factory so it’s quite simple to figure things out.

2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/21 11:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Unfortunately you'll have to short each cable at one end, then use your voltmeter to check for 0 ohms at the other end.

otrfun

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 09/08/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/23/21 01:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Even if Crossroads gave you a wiring diagram there's no guarantee it's accurate. If there's one thing RV manufacturers are known for, it's their lack of consistency. I'd fabricate some shorting connectors and ohm-out the cables (and hope there's no DC blocking components in between).

It took us a bit of time to ohm-out our truck camper's OTA/cable wiring in order to install a Dish satellite system.

Good luck.

* This post was last edited 05/23/21 02:41pm by otrfun *   View edit history

Sandia Man

Rio Rancho, NM

Senior Member

Joined: 08/09/2008

View Profile



Posted: 05/23/21 01:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What each coax does will be easy to figure out, install satellite to either coax on roof, than coax inside rig to receiver, no signal just switch coax until you get signal. Of course you can go to Lowes or Home Depot and pick up a coax tester for $30, that way no guessing where theses coaxes lead to.

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/21 03:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Your best option is to "Tone out" the cables.. This is easier than it sounds using a Cable Tracker or using a cable toner

What's a cable toner? Two devices one sends an audio tone down the cable it has a common "F" type connector and a battery and a switch
The other is basically a speaker with an "F" connector

Hook the transmitter to one end then hook the speaker to cables till you hear tone.> label it

Cable tracker is a Radio transmitter and a receiver very directional receiver.
Hook to the SHIELD (nut) on the wire to be examined (And if there is a ground around hook to it too or hook the ground lead to a good hunk of metal)(

Point the receiver wand at the assorted cables and the loudest BEEP is the one.

Method 3
Battery. test leads (or short coax.. connector on one end. other end stripped and hooked to battery) 9V retangular is good here

Now using a 12 volt automotive test light Test the other end and the one that lights.. Label both ends.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


LouLawrence

Traveling the US!

Senior Member

Joined: 03/16/2021

View Profile



Posted: 05/23/21 05:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What we do know is that the coach is NOT pre-wired for an RF Mogul antenna. This antenna is excellent but requires a separate, RF Mogul only, cable. The same is true if you wanted the Winegard Trav'ler (my preferred choice). It's likely the "pre-wire" is for a dome antenna and one coax would run from the "main" connection of a dome to the master receiver and the 2nd could or could not be used but would go the 2nd slave receiver if one was used.
It's pretty easy to run the required cable for your RF Mogul so that should not be a reason not to install the antenna.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 05/23/21 06:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The RF Mogul uses a single coax. The technology is SWM (Single Wire Multiplex). The coax goes to a power brick and then on to the RF Mogul controller. The power cable goes to the controller. The conroller coax which is SWM goes to my DTV H44 which can record 5 channels at the same time.

The HDMI controller output goes to the TV. Since the H44 is a Genie the controller coax output can be routed to Genie Clients which are not receivers but instead are depenent on the Genie.

Your 2 coax setup is likely intended for a dual LNB dish. But you should be able to use just one coax IF there are no related splitters. However since you will be routing the power cable I recomment you route a high quality coax that has the bandwidth etc recommended for SWM.

PM me if you want to know more. And PS my daughter/family live in Carnation.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


Michelle.S

Western NY till fall, then Sebring, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2011

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 05/23/21 06:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We've had two Crossroad Redwood and both we pre-wired for the Winegard Traveler with the control cable/connect under the plate with the two coax connectors.


2018 Chevy 3500HD High Country Crew Cab DRW, D/A, 2016 Redwood 39MB, Dual AC, Fireplace, Sleep #Bed, Auto Sat Dish, Stack Washer/Dryer, Auto Level Sys, Disk Brakes, Onan Gen, 17.5" "H" tires, MORryde Pin & IS, Comfort Ride, Dual Awnings, Full Body Paint

CarnationSailor

Carnation,WA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/24/21 08:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had the satellite system installed last week and we are enjoying great tv; however, I didn't learn a lot about the pre-wiring. Here is all I can add:

Of the 2 coax jacks on the roof, one goes to the entertainment center and one goes to the bedroom tv.

Of the 3 coax cables in the entertainment center, one comes from the roof, but I don't know what the other 2 connect to. I suspect that one comes from one of the 2 satellite jacks on the utility panel (for use with a portable antenna). Maybe the other one goes to the satellite jack in the "basement" (to connect a basement-mounted tv).

I learned very little about the pre-wiring because very little info was needed to set up our system.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Satellite Pre-Wiring
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.