RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Fifth-Wheels: Electrical problem with front stabilizers. Update.

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Electrical problem with front stabilizers. Update.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/27/21 04:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Okay, I need some suggestions, hints, or outright solutions.

I have a 2010 Keystone Fuzion 383, a 40' toyhauler. It has been in storage for the last few months. The battery has been on a Battery Tender in the heated garage at home. When I went out to bring it home, I installed the battery and the front stabilizers wouldn't do anything. They are the Bulldog double motor stabilizers. When the rocker switch was moved, nothing happened, no noise, no nothing. Having few tools to work with, I jumped directly from the battery and the motors would then operate as they should. That got me home.

At home I've checked the wiring, and there is 12 volts to the rocker switch, but that voltage drops to 0 Volts when the switch is moved, and then goes back to 12 Volts when the switch is released. But voltage checked directly at the battery doesn't change in the least, steady 12.5 volts. However I can run a wire directly from the battery to the 12 volt terminal on the rocker switch and the motors work as they should. I have the remote control fob for slides, stabilizers, awning, and they all work, but the front stabilizers don't work using the remote. All fuses in the control panel look good.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. TIA.

* This post was edited 05/29/21 01:15pm by fj12ryder *


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/27/21 04:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You have a high resistance open and hence no voltage under load. One of many possibilities is a loose connection or a cooroded connection.

Often you can put a load on the wire like a light bulb and it will not light because it's a low resistance load.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/27/21 05:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you. I can do simple electrics, but this kind of stuff just makes me go "Duh".

MFL

Midwest

Senior Member

Joined: 11/28/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/27/21 05:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have you checked the breaker near the battery, most often on the inside basement wall? You could bypass that with a jumper, as they can get weak, or fail over time.

[image]

Jerry





fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/27/21 06:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you Jerry, I'll give that a check too. We are leaving Tuesday so I've got a few days yet. Worse comes to worst I'll run a wire directly from the battery to the switch. Easy to do, but would rather fix the problem than use a doofer.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/27/21 06:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Add a fuse or CB at the battery end to temp wiring.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/27/21 06:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good idea, thank you.

Flute Man

Payson, Arizona

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/27/21 10:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If I were you, I would trace the wire all the way from the battery to the motor to locate corroded or high resistance connection.


Jerry Parr
05 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350
04 Honda CR-V
Ham Radio K7OU
Retired EE
Jrparr32@gmail.com
602-321-8141
Full-timer

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/28/21 07:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you, I've tried to do that, but they don't go directly to the battery. The wires disappear up though the floor, and out through the walls, so it's very tough to see where the wires connect to other wires.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/28/21 08:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A wire tracer or toner device might help track the wire.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Electrical problem with front stabilizers. Update.
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.