RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Around the Campfire: ANOTHER baseball question......

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Around the Campfire

Open Roads Forum  >  Around the Campfire  >  Sports

 > ANOTHER baseball question......

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
akaPedro

Garaged

Full Member

Joined: 11/03/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/04/21 10:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Runner on a base. Pitcher throws ball in front of the plate and catcher blocks or catches it. Ball is scuffed and either the ump or catcher throws a new ball back to the pitcher

Oops, ball goes over pitcher's head and runner advances a base.

Is time out automatically called for the new ball....or does it make a difference if the catcher.....or ump.....threw back to the pitcher ?

TIA

monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/05/21 08:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Are you testing our baseball knowledge, or wondering about the actual rules so you know them?


Monkey44
Cape Cod Ma & Central Fla
Chevy 2500HD 4x4 DC-SB
2008 Lance 845
Back-country camping fanatic

mdcamping

CT

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/05/21 09:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My guess would be if the ump assumes control of the ball for whatever reason time out would be automatically called. I'm no baseball expert.

Mike


07 Toyota Tacoma,Double Cab, Max Towing 6,500lbs GCWR 11,100lbs
2011 Jayco X20E, Pro Series 800lb Weight Distributing Hitch
Husky Sway Bar, Prodigy Electronic Brake Control
McKesh Mirrors.

Where we have camped


Tyler0215

Iowa

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2013

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/05/21 02:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If the ball is thrown back to the pitcher, it's in play.

aftermath

Washington State

Senior Member

Joined: 09/18/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/05/21 02:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I disagree. When the ball is thrown in the dirt the umpire will ask to inspect the ball. At that point time is "out". The umpire will then pass the ball to the pitcher by either doing it himself or assigning the task to the catcher. Time will remain out until the umpire directs the pitcher to pitch the ball.


2017 Toyota Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7L V8
2006 Airstream 25 FB SE
Equalizer Hitch

monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Online
Posted: 06/05/21 04:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

aftermath wrote:

I disagree. When the ball is thrown in the dirt the umpire will ask to inspect the ball. At that point time is "out". The umpire will then pass the ball to the pitcher by either doing it himself or assigning the task to the catcher. Time will remain out until the umpire directs the pitcher to pitch the ball.


Basically correct, except the time out remains until the HP Ump says 'Play ball' ... Doesn't matter who tosses the ball back to pitcher. Ump won't say 'Play ball' until the pitcher has the new ball in hand.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Around the Campfire  >  Sports

 > ANOTHER baseball question......
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Around the Campfire


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.