RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Fantastic Fan Thermostat error

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Fantastic Fan Thermostat error

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
mr_andyj

Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 11/13/2004

View Profile



Posted: 06/06/21 05:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have to set the temp setting very high for the fan to come on. Is there a fix?
I found this out of stock switch but not sure it is the exact fit, I think it is. Im sure I can find this item, but would rather fix mine since it will allow the fan to come on.
Its 80 in the cabin, I have to set the temp to almost the very highest setting for fan to come on. It used to work down to the 60's or so for the cool setting if I remember.

I have seen others just put a regular wall mounted thermostat, but Im not willing to take the ceiling pieces apart to run new wires.

Dick_B

Palos Heights, IL USA

Senior Member

Joined: 07/10/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 06/06/21 08:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just slightly off topic but would you, could you, replace the t/s with an on/off switch?


Dick_B
2003 SunnyBrook 27FKS
2011 3/4 T Chevrolet Suburban
Equal-i-zer Hitch
One wife, two electric bikes (both Currie Tech Path+ models)

StarkNaked

West Seattle, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/13/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/07/21 01:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Contact Dometic parts department. They own Fan-Tastic Vent now.

https://www.dometic.com/en/se/support/spare-parts

Let us know if you have success getting the part you need.

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 06/07/21 05:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it's a simple mechanical thermostat it's just a bimetal strip with contacts, the temp adjust can set either the gap between contacts or the preload against the movement of the strip to close the contacts, I would start by removing the stat from fan and cleaning the contacts


I can explain it to you.
But I Can Not understand it for you !

....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


mr_andyj

Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 11/13/2004

View Profile



Posted: 06/08/21 03:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MrWizard wrote:

If it's a simple mechanical thermostat it's just a bimetal strip with contacts, the temp adjust can set either the gap between contacts or the preload against the movement of the strip to close the contacts, I would start by removing the stat from fan and cleaning the contacts


I will try this before calling Dometic.

Side note - the fan has 3 speeds. Fast is power directly to the fan, while med and slow go through what looks like a heating element of two different sizes. I assume this "burns" off some power which then reduces the power to the fan and thus a slower speed. Conclusion, all 3 speeds use the same amount of power. Conclusion, it is better to use the high speed while the thermostat is on for maintaining temps while you are away (it will run less than a slower speed). Use the slow and medium speeds for comfort/noise level while inside.
or does fast use the least power?

mr_andyj

Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 11/13/2004

View Profile



Posted: 06/08/21 04:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Took it apart. The on/off switch is keeping it from dropping down very far. I can see the contacts. Not sure what cleaning them will do since I know it works. The contacts is what I can hear click, it just seems to click too late - it is not that hot yet I have to set the temp almost all the way high for it to come on. It used to come on lower.
To do more I will have to disassemble from the roof. I may or may not do that.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Fantastic Fan Thermostat error
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.