RV.Net Open Roads Forum: New to truck camping - Palomino HS 2902 with flatbed?

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> New to truck camping - Palomino HS 2902 with flatbed?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
ognend

Virginia

View Profile

Posted: 06/26/21 05:08am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello!

I am totally new to truck camping. Have a 2021 Chevy 3500 cab&chassis crew cab with a 9ft4" flatbed (Hillsboro GII model).

I put in an order for a 2021 Palomino HS-2902 - will be ready in late September/early October.

The service guy at the dealer (OutpostRV in Indiana) asked me a curious question after seeing the photo of my truck - "This will work fine. The sides look foldable, are they sturdy?". I said "I hope so, they are foldable and made of steel". Since I am totally new - this question gave me pause - they are a solid 9 hour drive away (this was the best price I could find - local dealer wanted $3,000 more for the same camper!) - and I want to understand how the camper will connect to the truck and why he needs the sides to be sturdy. The sides to fold out but what gave me pause is the fact that they are foldable and I am wondering if the whole 3-4,000 lbs will be depending on the latch not opening while the TC is connected, because I don't think the sides were designed to take the stress of so much weight.