RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: GFI Breaker

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > GFI Breaker

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
DarkSkySeeker

Freestone, California

Senior Member

Joined: 10/13/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 10:53am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So I warned the GF not to plug in 5 appliances to the outlets in the kitchen. She did anyway and the plugs stopped working, including the kitchen, living room, and outside plugs. All of the dead plugs are labelled "Ground Fault Protected" but none have resets or test buttons.

Turns out the bedroom and TV outlets are on their own circuit. The bathroom has a GFCI plug that tests, resets, and works independently of this problem.

A lot of the rest of this post is guesswork.

So I opened up my breaker panel and there is a 15amp circuit labelled "GFI" (no "C"). I bought another breaker ($25) and replaced it and the "failed" circuits continued to not work.

About an hour later, mysteriously, they were on.

Here's the real guesswork...

The contacts on the old breaker looked bent. While on there was continuity but I could not tell if power was getting to it through the bent contacts. I can not explain the hour long delay before power was restored. Some sort of reset process/lag?

Your thoughts?

* This post was last edited 07/01/21 11:11am by DarkSkySeeker *   View edit history


There is something special about camping in an RV.
.


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/01/21 11:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am guessing you have another GFCI receptacle.
The breaker you replaced, was it a true GFI breaker or was it just a single pole breaker. GFI breakers have a reset button.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


DarkSkySeeker

Freestone, California

Senior Member

Joined: 10/13/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 11:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

I am guessing you have another GFCI receptacle.
The breaker you replaced, was it a true GFI breaker or was it just a single pole breaker. GFI breakers have a reset button.


I don't really know the answers to your good questions. All I did was replace the GFI breaker with a single pole breaker. The breaker panel lists this particular breaker as GFI. We looked high and low for a resetable outlet, and never reset anything since we couldn't find it.

DarkSkySeeker

Freestone, California

Senior Member

Joined: 10/13/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 11:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

All of the breakers are the same manufacturer, they just have different limits.

[image]

Roger10378

Goodrich, MI.

Senior Member

Joined: 05/29/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 11:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

5 appliances on a circuit will not trip the GFCI they will trip the breaker if the load is too much. The breaker labeled GFI is supplying the GFCI. Did you check the outside outlet for GFCI? In many cases that one supplies some of the other circuits.


2005 Cardinal 30TS
2007 Chevy 2500HD D/A

DarkSkySeeker

Freestone, California

Senior Member

Joined: 10/13/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 11:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Roger10378 wrote:

5 appliances on a circuit will not trip the GFCI they will trip the breaker if the load is too much. The breaker labeled GFI is supplying the GFCI. Did you check the outside outlet for GFCI? In many cases that one supplies some of the other circuits.


Thanks for the response. The GFCI in the bathroom does not go off when the circuit labelled GFI is off.

She had an ice maker, a small dorm sized freezer and a coffee pot all on at the same time.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/01/21 12:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Double check the galley area for another GFCI receptacle
If you paid $25 for a single pole breaker, you got ripped off! There is nothing special about RV breakers!

Yosemite Sam1

Under the pines.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/28/2018

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 12:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Permanent solution, change gF! LOL

Mine keeps on turning on appliances and hair dryer at the same time.

And too many USBs and octopus connections to the cigarette that it blew the fuse on our trailer puller.

Too bad I married her and divorce is more expensive.

Dusty R

Charlotte Michigan 48813

Senior Member

Joined: 04/05/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/21 01:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GFI = Ground Fault Interrupter Is what they were called when they first came out/were required.
GFCI = Ground Fault Current is what they are now called, there maybe a slight difference.
A GFCI receptacle is most often the first receptacle on a circuit then all the other receptacle down the line are also GFCI protected, if properly wired.

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/01/21 01:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enblethen wrote:

Double check the galley area for another GFCI receptacle
If you paid $25 for a single pole breaker, you got ripped off! There is nothing special about RV breakers!


Those are Eaton BD1515 Duplex or "twin" breakers, and are two breakers built into one full size housing.

[image]

Allows one to add more circuits to the breaker box than single full size breakers would have allowed. Works in boxes not designed for half size breakers.

They are more expensive than if you used a single full size breaker and $25 is not out of line..

Same one is selling for $22.63 at Amazon HERE, add in taxes and possibly shipping it would be right around $25..

Nothing special about that breaker, it is not a GFCI breaker and somewhere down the wiring line there is most likely a GFCI since the panel label mentions it..

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > GFI Breaker
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.