RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Armoured extension cord

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Armoured extension cord

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
BurbMan

Noblesville, IN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/02/21 02:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since OP says it's a gravel driveway with tire ruts, it's not a flat surface to put any kind of cord guard or covering on. To do this right (ie according to code), conduit should be at least 12" down...but if you're renting a trencher, you may as well go 24" and then you can just lay in 10/2 UF cable that's rated for direct burial.

Install the proper outlet with in-use cover on the side of the driveway where the RV is parked and you're done.

Don't attempt to run extension cord in conduit or lay conduit across the driveway, the plastic will shatter when you drive over it in cold weather.

If you want something less temporary than buried cable, I would get a tough extension cord like this YellowJacket and just lay it across the drive. It will hold up to being driven over on a gravel drive, for how long depends on how busy your drive is. If you;re like us and go in/out 2 or 3 times/day, this cord will last a long time.


2015 Ram 3500 SRW 4x4 Laramie Crew Cab Long Box, Cummins diesel
2002 Lance 811 Slide-In Camper
SOLD: 2008 Terry 34' TT
SOLD: 2001 K2500LT 8.1L Suburban

Lance 811 Renovation Story!
Project Complete!
Maiden Voyage!


Fisherman

Angus, Ontario, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 09/28/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/21 06:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gdetrailer wrote:

No such thing exists and if it did would be more expensive than your RV.

The closest thing to armored cable that I can think of is this

[image]

"BX" cable, but, it is not designed for and cannot be used for outdoor use, it is not designed to be run over..

Find a different route such as overhead or take it the long way around or bury conduit under the driveway and run some wire through the conduit and terminate to a RV outlet.

You could also try cord protectors that look like this..

[image]

[image]

That one is rated for 22,000 lbs but it is expensive for a 40" length..

Found HERE for $52.00


Well sorry for you but it does exist, we used it in the Military, 10/3 + ground, rubber covered and capable of being laid across roads and fields. Check Mil grade cable.

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/02/21 09:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Fisherman wrote:

Gdetrailer wrote:

No such thing exists and if it did would be more expensive than your RV.



Well sorry for you but it does exist, we used it in the Military, 10/3 + ground, rubber covered and capable of being laid across roads and fields. Check Mil grade cable.


AND costs more than what a RV costs.

For the average person, Mil spec stuff is often way out of budget and simply not worth dealing with.. After all, we are talking the same military that buys $2.98 hammers for $100, pays $600 for a toilet seat or how about $3,000 for a coffee maker???

Per HERE

By the way, just because the "military" specs or uses something, does not mean it truly is "the best", perhaps on some items a bit more rugged but not always the best..

I will stand by the idea that finding an alternate route for the average home and RV owner for things like electrical is by far the best way to go about this.. If you have ever had the pleasure of falling on gravel, you will find that it shreds you and all objects.. Pretty sharp stuff.

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/21 12:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Been there done that dept.
Temporary fix...
Extension cord

BLACK PLASTIC SPIRAL WRAP purchased on Amazon
½" diameter black spiral wrap should be plenty big enough.
Dig a shallow trough.
Clean sharp rocks out beneath the spiral wrapped cord.
EZ does when crossing.
My Mickey Mouse setup lasted two years. Without the spiral wrap it lasted a week. A car passed over it 4 times a day.

Amazon search ½" black spiral wrap.

Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/21 08:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Two 2x4's with a pc of plywood capping them leaving a space between the 2x4's for the cord. Did this many times on construction sites. Works for water lines also.


2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

swimmer_spe

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 08/14/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/21 08:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP here. I have a junction box on that side of the driveway. I'm going to call an electrician and have them wire up an outside plug there. After hearing the options, I feel it is the best solution, and it won't cost much.

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/21 11:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’m confused…but good luck in your solution.


2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29

wopachop

Who run bartertown

Senior Member

Joined: 11/17/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/21 01:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh perfect!! You already have wire run in conduit over there. You should be able to get a standard 15a receptacle on that.

Depending on conduit size he might be able to pull thicker wire and give you a 30a setup. If you ever wanted to run heaters and stuff come winter 30a would be awesome.

If you post a picture of your service panel people here might be able to give advice on what to do. It could be really easy to put that outside junction box on its own 15 or 20a breaker. So its not sharing power with the house. I had to do that back home. We plug the trailer into the garage outlets. But it kept tripping the breaker. So i gave 1 outlet its own dedicated 20a breaker. The breaker was already there. Just had to swap wires around.

Ideally that outside junction box is already on its own circuit. Like you said it will be cheap to add an outlet right there.

Have you pulled the cover and taken a peek? Hopefully its not low voltage wire for outdoor lighting. If it looks like speaker wire then he will have to pull new wire.

Dusty R

Charlotte Michigan 48813

Senior Member

Joined: 04/05/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/21 02:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wopachop wrote:

Oh perfect!! You already have wire run in conduit over there. You should be able to get a standard 15a receptacle on that.

Depending on conduit size he might be able to pull thicker wire and give you a 30a setup. If you ever wanted to run heaters and stuff come winter 30a would be awesome.

If you post a picture of your service panel people here might be able to give advice on what to do. It could be really easy to put that outside junction box on its own 15 or 20a breaker. So its not sharing power with the house. I had to do that back home. We plug the trailer into the garage outlets. But it kept tripping the breaker. So i gave 1 outlet its own dedicated 20a breaker. The breaker was already there. Just had to swap wires around.

Ideally that outside junction box is already on its own circuit. Like you said it will be cheap to add an outlet right there.

Have you pulled the cover and taken a peek? Hopefully its not low voltage wire for outdoor lighting. If it looks like speaker wire then he will have to pull new wire.


When you switched wires around. I hope that you didn't put #14 wires on a 20 amp breaker.

wopachop

Who run bartertown

Senior Member

Joined: 11/17/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/21 03:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I didnt. But good looking out.
Not saying i wouldnt though.
Never at a customers house.
But my own house, when the outlet is 24 inches away from the panel, eh...maybe.

Actually come to think of it. I just realized they have the trailer plugged into a diff outlet!!! Theyre not even using my dedicated 20a. I better warm them to go check the fridge!!! Gonna be a bummer if the breaker tripped and nobody noticed. Im not home to check.

Just to clarify for anyone following along i used to have my own trailer plugged into the garage. Using the microwave would sometimes trip it if my water heater or other stuff happened to be on at the same time.

Now currently its a different trailer with just the fridge on. I dont think they even know and remember i made one of the garage outlets our "trailer outlet".

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Armoured extension cord
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.