RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Connecting Winegard Traveler to Dish Hopper

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Connecting Winegard Traveler to Dish Hopper

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
fotodog

San Francisco, CA

Full Member

Joined: 07/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/05/21 08:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello All,
My apologies if this has been addressed, but I can’t find any information with a search. My old Dish receiver bit the dust, and I’m now trying to connect the new Hopper to my Winegard rooftop satellite dish. The problem I’m having is that my 2008 Tiffen uses a control box which connects both TV’s to either the rooftop analog antenna, campground cable, or satellite dish by pressing the appropriate switch, but it only has coaxial connections.

With my old Dish receiver, I plugged the incoming satellite cable into a splitter, with one leg going to the receiver and the other leg going to the control box. But the new Hopper only has one coaxial input, so I don’t have a way to connect it to the control box.

Do I need a new control box? If anyone has experience with this, I would greatly appreciate your help. Thanks! Tim


Tim, my wife Li, and Snickers and Ziggy the Wonder Kitties

2008 Tiffen Allegro 30DA, Workhorse W22 Chassis, Allison 6 speed, Chevy 8.1L V8
2015 Jeep Cherokee with Blue Ox baseplate & ReadyBrake system

http://www.timandrews.com/ My photography web site


LouLawrence

Traveling the US!

Full Member

Joined: 03/16/2021

View Profile



Posted: 07/06/21 07:28am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you are talking about getting the TV signal from the Hopper to more than 1 TV there is no coax option available as the output is HDMI. You could add an wireless HDMI splitter/repeater and connect that to the 2nd TV but they are not cheap. If you have the ability to run a new HDMI cable from the Hopper to the 2nd TV then you only need the splitter to get the signal there. You may find some HDMI to coax (usually poor quality picture) or CAT6 Ethernet if you don't have room to run a new HDMI cable. Keep in mind you could run the coax up through the ceiling to the roof, across the roof and back into the RV at the new location, it just takes a longer cable.
If you do have the Winegard Trav'ler SK-1000 for DISH, you can also just run a 2nd coax to the 2nd TV from the antenna and use a Joey at that location.

CarnationSailor

Carnation,WA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/21/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/06/21 11:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You could also use a wireless Joey at the 2nd TV location.


2015 Crossroads Rushmore Springfield
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax


fotodog

San Francisco, CA

Full Member

Joined: 07/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/06/21 03:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the replies gentlemen, but I may not have been clear in my first post. I need a way to connect the Hopper to the video control box. Right now I cannot watch satellite TV on the main TV, much less the 2nd one.

The Hopper only has one coaxial connection for the incoming signal, where the old Dish receiver had that plus a “home distribution port” coaxial connection that would connect the receiver to the control box. If the only solution is running new cables in the RV, I might be better off buying an older receiver off Ebay.

Thunder Mountain

Lost in the Four Corners

Senior Member

Joined: 02/09/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/06/21 03:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Do a search on using a Dish Hopper3 in an RV. Start by reading this: https://rvseniormoments.com/tech-docs/dish-tv-for-rvs/hopper-3-use-in-an-rv/dph42-switch-hopper-3-option-instead-of-modifying-your-travler/


2016 Winnebago Journey 40R
2018 Rubicon
1982 FJ40 Toyota Land Cruiser
2020 Keystone Outback 327CG
2020 Dodge Ram 2500
Polaris RZR XP 1000
4 Cats
3 Dogs
1 Bottle of Jack Daniels
Two old hippies still trying to find ourselves!

Retired JSO

North Georgia Mountains

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/06/21 03:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Use an RF Modulator which uses the video output in your receiver to send the signal to a cable.





Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/06/21 04:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here's another modulator option:

HDMI RF Modulator Coax Adapter 1080P Inp........l Output Converter with Male F Type Cord


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


LouLawrence

Traveling the US!

Full Member

Joined: 03/16/2021

View Profile



Posted: 07/06/21 05:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The RF modulator will take your HD output from the Hopper and convert it to SD even if the TV is HD capable. I was assuming you would like to have HD TV on your TV's. You were clear but a simple answer is not available.

TechWriter

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/06/21 07:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A couple of assumptions on my part . . .

You're using a Hopper 3. Your Tiffin control box in connected to the ANTENNA IN of your TVs.

If that's that case, you could probably still use your Tiffin control box for OTA TV and park cable, but I don't recommend using it for HD TV.

Here's what I did . . .

[image]

A couple of notes . . .

- I used a Channel Plus Video Amp. You could probably still use your Tiffin box.

- I used hard wired Joey 2s. You could also use wireless Joeys, or wireless HDMI. However, I do NOT recommend a RF modulator unless you want crummy looking TV.

- If your Winegard Traveler is newer (2018+), you can install a DPH LNBF on it. Then you can run a single wire from the Winegard instead of three. Plus, you won't need the DPH42 switch.

* This post was edited 07/06/21 07:58pm by TechWriter *


2004 - 2013 Part Timer (2004 National RV Sea Breeze 8341 gasser)
2013 - 2020 Full Timer (2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP)
2021 - ??? Part Timer (2001 National RV Sea View 8311 gasser)
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

fotodog

San Francisco, CA

Full Member

Joined: 07/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/06/21 08:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gentlemen, thanks again for all your replies. Everyone has been so generous with your time and sharing your knowledge. I have spent the last few hours doing more research and, as with many things, it’s more complicated than first thought. Compatibility is a big problem as technology advances so quickly. I found that out in my business once photography went digital. Top of the line camera systems became practically obsolete in 5 years.

My 2008 Allegro was one of the last years with analog SD TV’s. Since our RV trips are limited and we spend much of our time outdoors, TV was never a priority and we never upgraded to HD. So for now, a RF modulator would probably be fine if that, combined with the DPH42 , would allow me to use my current setup to view both front and rear TV’s.

Tom, you obviously have a LOT of experience doing this. Much of my research was reading your writing on the subject. I’m not clear on how to connect the DPH42 to the dish. The RV Tech who installed my Winegard system has always done great work with attention to detail. He ran one of the lines from the dish to the Winegard box, the second line plugs into the Dish receiver, and the third line is unused. Your wiring diagrams never indicate how the Winegard box is wired, or maybe they do and I’m just not seeing it. Can you please clarify? Thanks!
Tim

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Connecting Winegard Traveler to Dish Hopper
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.