RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Help getting fridge to run while underway

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > Help getting fridge to run while underway

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/21 04:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fijidad wrote:

Took me a while to get back to the storage yard where we have our RV parked. I've taken pictures of the fridge and some others I hope are helpful...unhappily, I can't figure out how to post them from my files. My thought is this is not a fridge problem, but rather something external to it...the power supply is disrupted to it when I start the drive engine. The code the fridge puts out when I start the drive engine is "no a/c." Why the propane supply would also be disrupted is a mystery. I can do some repairs myself if they're pretty straightforward, so would like to not have to take it back to a repair facility if possible. Thanks, Dan


You have a Norcold 1200. You have 3 modes to set the refer
AUTO
AC
LP
If on Auto, and it states NO ac, it should go to LP
If on AC, it will state NO AC if NO AC but will NOT go to LP
If on LP then it will NOT state NO ac and will operate on LP

accsys

Green Cove Springs, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 07/09/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/08/21 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Still don't know what kind of rig it is so will not waste time guessing. It sounds like a 12V problem that occurred when the system switched from the converter to the alternator and perhaps popped a circuit breaker but really need more info.


John & Doris
Doris and Robbies Blogs
2017 Cedar Creek Cottage 40 CCK
FMCA F380583, PA, Good Sams


dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/08/21 07:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

accsys wrote:

Still don't know what kind of rig it is so will not waste time guessing. It sounds like a 12V problem that occurred when the system switched from the converter to the alternator and perhaps popped a circuit breaker but really need more info.


2002 Monaco Windsor. Doug

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/21 07:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Any chance it has a propane detector that actually shuts off the propane?


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/09/21 06:58am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Any chance it has a propane detector that actually shuts off the propane?


Not on Monaco. Doug

If so, it would show NO FL

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 07/09/21 07:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It takes 12 volts DC to operate the refer.
Best place to operate the refer, is on auto.
I would suggest putting meter on 12 volt supply to refer and see what happens when helper starts the rig.
I would test coach batteries. Check 12 volts DC to refer in all operational conditions. Operate refer manually in propane and 120 volts AC.
Check salesman switch.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


fijidad

Escondido, CA

New Member

Joined: 02/09/2021

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 11:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, I think I'm in the final leg of this issue...I've spoken to Senior Member Jerry Parr, and Richard, a retired mobile RV mechanic, in pursuing why our fridge wouldn't operate correctly. Jerry suggested I call Norcold and run this by them. I did and they said if the red light on the Recall Kit black box was on solid, then that box was probably bad. They said go to Camping World and order a new one for free. I did and now I'm waiting for it to arrive. In the meantime, Richard suggested connecting the two 12 volt wires from that box together...basically they way it came from the factory...I did and now the fridge works fine in every situation. I asked the Norcold rep. how long the Recall Kit boxes are good for...she said some last 10 years, and some much less. I think mine had a couple of different phases of failure, as the symptoms changed a bit over time, but I'm a happy camper now that I tracked it down to the Recall Kit.

dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 01:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Install the new box. All should be good.
If you have to bypass it again maybe look into a residential fridge.


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/09/21 04:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

fijidad wrote:

Well, I think I'm in the final leg of this issue...I've spoken to Senior Member Jerry Parr, and Richard, a retired mobile RV mechanic, in pursuing why our fridge wouldn't operate correctly. Jerry suggested I call Norcold and run this by them. I did and they said if the red light on the Recall Kit black box was on solid, then that box was probably bad. They said go to Camping World and order a new one for free. I did and now I'm waiting for it to arrive. In the meantime, Richard suggested connecting the two 12 volt wires from that box together...basically they way it came from the factory...I did and now the fridge works fine in every situation. I asked the Norcold rep. how long the Recall Kit boxes are good for...she said some last 10 years, and some much less. I think mine had a couple of different phases of failure, as the symptoms changed a bit over time, but I'm a happy camper now that I tracked it down to the Recall Kit.


IF the recall box is installed correctly, it will show LiOP when the red led light on the box comes ON. You NEVER stated that the RED LED on the recall was ON. Also, the most common cause of a failure of the recall box is if water gets into it when washing the RV and blowing water thru the refer out door. IF the recall light was ON and you got NO AC on the inside, the recall wiring is NOT installed correctly. Doug

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  Maintenance Issues & Tips

 > Help getting fridge to run while underway
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.