RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Samsung Phone

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Samsung Phone

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 12:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I bought a Samsung A10e about a year or more ago. It has a Google icon on the start page among other ICONS. When I punch up Google to search web, I type in the name of a search in the bar - Like Tampa Rays score - it goes to the Rays page and I find it. It's always searched and found what I typed ... until today.

Today, I type in a name - as always - hit search, and it kicks me back to the home screen ... I type in a search again - in the Google bar ... punch search, and it kicks back to the home screen again.

I'm not sure if I accidentally pushed a setting icon at some point, but can't find anything that resembles a fix button.

I restarted it twice - same thing -- Clueless??


Monkey44
Cape Cod Ma & Central Fla
Chevy 2500HD 4x4 DC-SB
2008 Lance 845
Back-country camping fanatic

Ed_Gee

Central Oregon coast

Senior Member

Joined: 01/14/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 01:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have an iPhone, but regardless, you should be able to just bring up Google home page in your web browser and save it to your home screen.... effectively creating a new Google icon. Then just delete the old non-functioning one.


Ed - on the Central Oregon coast
2018 Winnebago Fuse 23A
Scion xA toad

monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 01:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't get my web browser to browse ... when I type in a web address, hit search, it opens to the same page again - the screen page where the ICONS live.

I tried it on several home pages - dot coms - that I know are active.

Guess I'll putter around with it and see if something got glitched at the last update - which T-Mobile forces on us. It works fine, get an update, doesn't work fine anymore. Or will run down to the T-Mobile store and have them fix it. Probably want me to buy a new one -- this one, not even two years old. [emoticon]

lryrob9301

Mid-Atlantic

Senior Member

Joined: 01/23/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/17/21 03:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Go to the "settings" app and open. Come down to "General Management" and open. Come down to "Reset" and open. Come down to "Reset all settings" open and click on "Reset Settings".

As a last resort if the above doesn't work come down to the "Reset" and open again. This time go to "Factory data reset" open and come down to the "RESET" button. CAUTION THIS WILL RESET YOUR PHONE TO FACTORY NEW CONDITION, you will loose all downloaded settings and apps.


2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6


monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 04:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

lryrob9301 wrote:

Go to the "settings" app and open. Come down to "General Management" and open. Come down to "Reset" and open. Come down to "Reset all settings" open and click on "Reset Settings".

As a last resort if the above doesn't work come down to the "Reset" and open again. This time go to "Factory data reset" open and come down to the "RESET" button. CAUTION THIS WILL RESET YOUR PHONE TO FACTORY NEW CONDITION, you will loose all downloaded settings and apps.


Thanks, I'll do that. I don't have many apps - I use this as a voice phone and some text, occasionally a camera. I don't sync anything else. So, not much lost anyway.

Ed_Gee

Central Oregon coast

Senior Member

Joined: 01/14/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 04:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One little question remains ... do you have any 'data' available now in your plan? Sounds to me like you may not if you can't get anything on the Internet. Need to check with your cellular service provider to find out if you don't know ... telephone service is separate from Internet data ...

* This post was edited 08/17/21 05:26pm by Ed_Gee *

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 05:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Before you change or reset any settings, go into your apps and clear the cache for each affected one. If that doesn't work, then try clearing the app data as well...


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


monkey44

Cape Cod, MA and Central Fla

Senior Member

Joined: 11/12/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/17/21 08:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Unlimited data ... And I cleared everything, shut down the phone completely and waited a while. Was then ready to fire it up and follow the above instructions, and it works properly again. `\o/`

This is second time ... I don't use apps - just phone calls, texting, web search some not a lot. And use the camera occasionally. Use the laptop for nearly everything, and phone does not sync to anything.

Tech baffles me when it quits, especially when I change nothing - it just happens. Then I try to figure it out, with help from RV.net, which never fails. Thanks to all who responded - happy camping guys!! M44

wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/18/21 05:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Phones are not phones anymore. They are hand held computers and one of the features is to make phone calls. Being a computer you have to reset and reboot them periodically. Once a week I close out all apps, close out all open web pages, and power off. Have had far fewer anomalies since I started doing this.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2dr HT

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/21 04:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As of earlier today my Samsung A-32-5G googled just fine from the google bar

It is possible a bit got flipped somewhere.

I just used the phone to google: Phone will not google

Now I get to type. oh the joy (These are my comments)

Restart your device (That fixes many errors)
If you're able to connect to the internet update the Google App to the latest version.

Then try your search again.


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Samsung Phone
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.