RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Ryobi 2300 generator keeps overloading

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Ryobi 2300 generator keeps overloading

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
jonaz

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 11/03/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/21 09:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 2021 Coachman Catalina.

I bought Ryobi 2300 Inverter generator. My intent is to run small stuff, like the LCD TV, lights and my work laptops.

When I plugged the generator into my 30amp trailer connection, it overloaded the generator. The AC was not on.

Why is my trailer drawing so much load? I had to turn off the GFI in the breaker panel box because it was causing an overload.

I can get the fireplace heater to run but not the TV.

Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance!


[blue]2007 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 5.7 Hemi (3.92 gears) Prodigy brake controller,Weight Distribution Hitch 2021 Coachman Catalina 263BHSCK

Note: Due to invalid formatting, all formatting has been ignored.

Flute Man

Payson, Arizona

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/21 10:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Your converter will draw a lot at the beginning because it’s trying to charge your batteries. The TV may be on an inverter circuit that you have shut off.


Jerry Parr
05 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350
04 Honda CR-V
Ham Radio K7OU
Retired EE
Jrparr32@gmail.com
602-321-8141
Full-timer

jonaz

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 11/03/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/21 10:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I think you are right. Any suggestions? Again, all I want to do is run the lights, TV and maybe the fireplace.

jodeb720

Denver

Senior Member

Joined: 11/19/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/21 10:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

start by flipping the breakers in the box -
Make sure your Fridge is running on gas not Auto (that's pulls a few amps)
Make sure your water heater is running on Gas - not electric.
One at a time, flip your breakers on and see if that resolves your issue.

Eventually you'll find the circuit that's utilizing all your amps and you'll be able to charge your batteries as well as run your tv, etc.

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/14/21 10:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

But it doesn’t blow a breaker on a different genny or shore power?
If it does then it’s a live short in the camper.
If it doesn’t, it’s the generator.
Does the genny overload with a different load than the camper? Presumably not.

Not sure what you mean turn offf the gfi in the panel.


2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29

2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 09/14/21 11:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That's a pretty big generator to run such small stuff.

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/15/21 07:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Instead of guessing buy a Kill A Watt and measue your loads in amps or watts which will allow you to isolate the problem to your RV loads or the gen.

First and foremost this is a 1800W or 15A gen. Ignore the 2300W as that is starting amps. Do not expect to run the AC and or the fireplace with other loads as neither of these is a light load.

Also it's a MSW gen and not a PSW gen with is likely causing the TV and perhaps other equipment failures. You probably bought the wrong gen for your application.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/15/21 07:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BTW Do not expect the Kill A Watt to function correctly with a MSW gen but it's a great tool. At least you can measure the loads on utility power.

bgum

South Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 09/15/21 08:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

How many watts does that fireplace draw? It may be drawing all you have available.

2oldman

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Online
Posted: 09/15/21 08:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

CA Traveler wrote:

BTW Do not expect the Kill A Watt to function correctly with a MSW gen
Never heard of an MSW gen.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Ryobi 2300 generator keeps overloading
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.