RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Air operated stairs not working.

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Air operated stairs not working.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
larry cad

ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 05/23/2004

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 04:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cindy and Steve wrote:

Well I clicked that “picture” link and I don’t understand a word of it. LOL. All I can say is that the switch is not electrical. There are no wires going to it. There are just 4 tiny airlines going to it. It’s probably more of a valve than a switch. And it hisses when turned on. I’m wondering about the hissing. I can’t find anyone else who has one who can tell me if their switch hisses. If it’s not supposed to hiss then maybe I just have to change the switch to fix everything. It seems as though the switch/valve is not routing air to the step cover but just releasing air instead. Neither Google or YouTube have any info that I can find. But I’ll keep searching.



I have an air operated step cover in my American Coach and it DOES NOT leak air out. One time, several years ago, it did, but I tightened the air line connections on the "switch"/"valve" and it has been fine since. I don't think yours should be hissing either so I would tighten the connections on your.

Just as an aside, two things: You need a certain air pressure to do the position change. You should run your engine long enough to build air pressure. Should be at least 120PSI. Second would be that if you have hissing, you probably don't have sufficient pressure to do the position change, so tighten the fittings.


Today is my personal best for most consecutive days alive.

Our Travel Blog

Cindy and Steve

Azilda

New Member

Joined: 10/07/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 05:57am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi Larry. I will tighten the fittings today (once I figure out how) and let you know if that works. Thx.


2000 Newmar London Aire. 40’, Spartan chassis, 350 Cummins, Allison 6 sp, air ride, air brakes.

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 09:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does you dash not lift up. My 99 Mountainaire did.

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 09:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cindy and Steve wrote:

Well I clicked that “picture” link and I don’t understand a word of it. LOL. All I can say is that the switch is not electrical. There are no wires going to it. There are just 4 tiny airlines going to it. It’s probably more of a valve than a switch. And it hisses when turned on. I’m wondering about the hissing. I can’t find anyone else who has one who can tell me if their switch hisses. If it’s not supposed to hiss then maybe I just have to change the switch to fix everything. It seems as though the switch/valve is not routing air to the step cover but just releasing air instead. Neither Google or YouTube have any info that I can find. But I’ll keep searching.


You should not have any air leads as others have stated.

Cindy and Steve

Azilda

New Member

Joined: 10/07/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 12:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MountainAir05 wrote:

Does you dash not lift up. My 99 Mountainaire did.


Yep it lifts up. I can see the back of the switch easily. But until I posted this thread I didn’t know if I should order a new switch or not.

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 02:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cindy and Steve wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

Does you dash not lift up. My 99 Mountainaire did.


Yep it lifts up. I can see the back of the switch easily. But until I posted this thread I didn’t know if I should order a new switch or not.


A lot of these air valves can be taken apart and clean and put in new o-rings and they are good to go.

Cindy and Steve

Azilda

New Member

Joined: 10/07/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 04:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MountainAir05 wrote:

Cindy and Steve wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

Does you dash not lift up. My 99 Mountainaire did.


Yep it lifts up. I can see the back of the switch easily. But until I posted this thread I didn’t know if I should order a new switch or not.


A lot of these air valves can be taken apart and clean and put in new o-rings and they are good to go.


I took the switch out this afternoon. I can only take it apart so far. I eventually get to a point where I can’t figure out how to go further. I’d post a picture but I can’t for the life of me figure out how. I’ve tried to order a new switch but Newmar doesn’t seem to have one.

MT BOB

Montana

Full Member

Joined: 03/02/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/23/21 04:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cindy and Steve wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

Cindy and Steve wrote:

MountainAir05 wrote:

Does you dash not lift up. My 99 Mountainaire did.


Yep it lifts up. I can see the back of the switch easily. But until I posted this thread I didn’t know if I should order a new switch or not.


A lot of these air valves can be taken apart and clean and put in new o-rings and they are good to go.


I took the switch out this afternoon. I can only take it apart so far. I eventually get to a point where I can’t figure out how to go further. I’d post a picture but I can’t for the life of me figure out how. I’ve tried to order a new switch but Newmar doesn’t seem to have one.


Lots of air control places to obtain such parts,off the net. A picture or name and number off the switch might help. I don't remember how to post a pic, but I bet if you searched here, there is a thread.

Cindy and Steve

Azilda

New Member

Joined: 10/07/2021

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/25/21 09:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wow. Newmar doesn’t have the original part. They have a replacement switch that clearly doesn’t have the 4 airline attachments. It only has two. Yet they insist it’s the right part. And they want $1752 for it. And I’m in Ontario so by the time it got here, with the exchange rate and taxes it would be about $2800. **** crooks. I’ll just have to cut a board that covers the wheel well when we’re driving. What a joke.

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/25/21 12:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That the new owner. Newmar prices use to be very good. could you post a picture of the switch and the part number. Also does it have wires to it or just a air /valve. Did you see anything wrong inside it or maybe just dry and dirty. If so WD40 and let soak and then blow dry. If it has 0-rings then lube them , new ones if you can find and try again.

Will see if I can find you one.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > Air operated stairs not working.
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.