RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Furnace flames cycles off before temp is reached

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Furnace flames cycles off before temp is reached

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Chief Bob

Iola, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 01/06/2003

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/08/21 06:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks


Bob Leiper
Retired Fire Chief & City Manager
Iola, TX
2018 Thor Aria 3401 Diesel Pusher towing a 2021 Ford Escape Hybrid



enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 11/08/21 08:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Another thought!
Have you removed the circuit board, cleaned the contacts with a white pencil eraser applied some de-oxidation compound then reinstalled? It is possible that the problem could be there.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


jls

canastota, ny

Senior Member

Joined: 01/09/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/14/21 06:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have found that setting something near the furnace will block enough heat that the furnace will act like yours


John and Pam
2018 Thor Chateau 22E
Ford Chassis
C90T Suzuki Motorcycle
#9 TO THE FRONT


Chief Bob

Iola, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 01/06/2003

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/14/21 06:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Got back from our maiden voyage and spent some time on the furnace. Check the intake and discharge ducts. Found lots of saw dust in the floor ducts and even the cutout piece of plywood they didn't bother to remove. Blew out the blower wheel and intake. We made sure nothing is in front of the intake in the bathroom. The air volume is good on each discharge and I even removed the dampers on the floor grates so they don't get accidentally closed. There are only 3- 4" discharges on the furnace, pls a 2" for the basement. I did not clean the control board terminals but I will need to because it still short cycles.

CavemanCharlie

Storden,MN

Senior Member

Joined: 03/01/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/15/21 06:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Chief Bob wrote:

Got back from our maiden voyage and spent some time on the furnace. Check the intake and discharge ducts. Found lots of saw dust in the floor ducts and even the cutout piece of plywood they didn't bother to remove. Blew out the blower wheel and intake. We made sure nothing is in front of the intake in the bathroom. The air volume is good on each discharge and I even removed the dampers on the floor grates so they don't get accidentally closed. There are only 3- 4" discharges on the furnace, pls a 2" for the basement. I did not clean the control board terminals but I will need to because it still short cycles.


I've never heard of it causing Short Cycle problems. But, wasps love to build nests in the furnace exhaust and intake ports on the outside of the RV. I've had 2 different campers where I had to clean the ports out to get the furnace to work. Once I had to remove the furnace and I ended up dumping a whole coffee can full of wast nest material out of the furnace. You might want to check it out !

Chief Bob

Iola, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 01/06/2003

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/15/21 08:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks

pushtoy 2

texas

Full Member

Joined: 02/06/2018

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/20/21 09:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

not enough air flow check for restrtion some where or the blower isnt moving enough air.
check for low voltage. i had the same problem but on a older coach. i would check the voltage first thats ez.


DREAMER ">

Chief Bob

Iola, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 01/06/2003

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 11/20/21 10:14am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > Furnace flames cycles off before temp is reached
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.