RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Micro-Air/RecPro AC problem

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Micro-Air/RecPro AC problem

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
jerryb4

Wisconsin

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/22 06:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi all,

Updating AC on my Lance 1120, decided on a RecPro RP-AC2801 low profile. When I went to mount the Micro-Air 364 I removed from the old unit I cannot figure out where to mount it, it is really tight inside the AC unit.

Anybody added a Micro-Air to one of these and if so, where the heck did you put it ?

Thanks,

notsobigjoe

southeast

Senior Member

Joined: 09/15/2016

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/22 06:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have no idea where to put it in your new unit but the one I installed was completely water proof at least that's the way it looked to me. Mount it in a different place? Just some input to the problem, good luck!
Joe

jimh406

Western MT

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2006

View Profile





Online
Posted: 03/07/22 08:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First question, why do you think you need it?


'10 Ford F-450, 6.4, 4.30, 4x4, 14,500 GVWR, '06 Host Rainer 950 Dbl Slide, Torklift Talon tiedowns, Glow Steps, and Fastguns. Bilstein 4600s, Firestone Air Bags, Toyo M655 225/19.5 Gs, Curt front hitch, Energy Suspension bump stops.


jerryb4

Wisconsin

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/22 06:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I contacted Micro-Air, quick response, a plug for that company-they have always responded very quickly to any questions, nice. The unit is rated for outside. As to why needed, when I am boondocking and want air (not to often) I use my Honda 2200, as I had the 364 on the old unit might as well make life as easy as possible for the gen.
Thanks for the responses.

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/22 05:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Keep this in mind. If the factory cap dies while the AC is running, it will stop and no harm is done. If you have a hard start cap installed, it will allow it to keep running and it will destroy the compressor.
So if you don't need it, don't use one.

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/10/22 02:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ScottG wrote:

Keep this in mind. If the factory cap dies while the AC is running, it will stop and no harm is done. If you have a hard start cap installed, it will allow it to keep running and it will destroy the compressor.
So if you don't need it, don't use one.


The micro-air is neither a factory cap or hard start cap, so I not real sure what your cap point is about?

3 tons

JoeChiOhki

Sauvie Island, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 11/20/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 03/11/22 04:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For those not familiar with the A/C in question:

RecPro RP-AC2801

As to the original question, I'm not sure if these were designed to support the RecPro line, as they do not include any wiring diagrams for that model line, though they do have a generic wiring diagram that does not appear to remove the run capacitor completely from the circuit.

If I was to guess, your only option would be in the middle left hand side between the front and rear sections in the housing, attaching it in some fashion to the side of the inner shroud that I believe houses the cabin air fan housing.


My Blog - The Journey of the Redneck Express
CB Channel 17 Redneck Express
'1992 Dodge W-250 "Dually" Power Wagon - Club Cab Long Bed 4x4 V8 5.9L gashog w/4.10 Geared axles
'1974 KIT Kamper 1106 - 11' Slide-in
'2006 Heartland BigHorn 3400RL


trail-explorer

NM

Senior Member

Joined: 07/31/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/11/22 09:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jimh406 wrote:

First question, why do you think you need it?

The need for one is to "soft-start the A/C" when running on a small generator.

That's the whole purpose of the Micro Air Easy Start. It starts up the cooling fan first, then after a delay it starts up the compressor.

ScottG wrote:

If the factory cap dies while the AC is running, it will stop and no harm is done. If you have a hard start cap installed, it will allow it to keep running and it will destroy the compressor. So if you don't need it, don't use one.

So what are you saying? Don't use a factory cap and don't use a hard start cap?

Your post is confusing because it implies you need one (a cap) but then you say "if you don't need it, don't use one."

The Micro-Air is neither a factory cap or hard start cap, so I'm not real sure what your cap point is about.

* This post was edited 03/11/22 10:17am by trail-explorer *


Bob

jimh406

Western MT

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2006

View Profile





Online
Posted: 03/11/22 05:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

trail-explorer wrote:

jimh406 wrote:

First question, why do you think you need it?

The need for one is to "soft-start the A/C" when running on a small generator.

That's the whole purpose of the Micro Air Easy Start. It starts up the cooling fan first, then after a delay it starts up the compressor.


My point, since you missed it, was that just because he needed the Easy Start for the old AC doesn't mean he needs one to start the new AC.

jerryb4

Wisconsin

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/13/22 06:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

up date:
The RecPro RPAC-2801 is very tight inside, really compact and well sealed. I would have to mount the Micro-air outside the shroud secured to the camper roof. To access the compressor capacitor(which is needed to install the Micro-Air) I would have to do some dismantling, more then I want to at this point, so, I am going to install and perform trial runs with Honda 2200. Will try checking amp draw and function. Will update when possible.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Micro-Air/RecPro AC problem
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.