RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: No gas to cook top

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 10:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have you considered that it could be defective? Just replace it.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 12:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That will be done once the kids are back from Canyonlands —14 hour drive. I've been attempting to determine if there is a field fix. Besides, Dometic has said it is normal (to the RV builder and others who have had the problem). I KNOW from experience it is not generally normal. So I am looking for a fix. Have asked Dometic to send a new regulator pipe assembly. Weeeelll see.


'07 Chevy 3500 Dooley, CC, LT3, D/A

ernie1

Sacramento,California,USA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/10/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/30/22 12:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A few years ago I was on a trip up at an elevation of about 5,000'+ when my Dometic 3 way r efrigerator would not provide much, if any, cooling on propane and produced a low burner flame. Contacted a mobile rv repair guy who checked the problem out and said the propane gas regulator needed to be adjusted to a higher level. He reset the pressure regulator to I think 15psi. The refrigerator worked great after that. I was told to reset the regulator to 11.5 psi once I returned to a lower elevation where I lived at about sea level. Did that after I got home and everything worked fine. By the way, I did ask other rv hers if they had any issues and they said they didn't so I guess I was the only one with that issue. Also, my other propane fired appliances worked fine before and after the adjustment of the regulator.

* This post was edited 03/30/22 12:52pm by ernie1 *

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 05:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just to update my interaction with Dometic. While failing to find the regulator tube part on line, I went back to Dometic. They said that 50806 was no longer available. I said its a new unit! Then the person looked further and found that that part has been replaced by a new part 50817 which is a whole burner assembly that includes the regulator tube as an integral component! It's covered by warranty. But while I can buy it on line, I can't get it from Dometic because it's a gas part! The unit will have to go in to an authorized Dometic dealer! Remarkable. All this time to find that it is a defective part! As it had to be, given that the 4500 feet stuff was pure BS! BTW Ernie, what instrument did you use to reset the regulator?

ernie1

Sacramento,California,USA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/10/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/30/22 06:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enahs: I purchased a "Gas Pressure Test Kit" made by Yellow Jacket, part #78060,0-35"W.C. It came with all the fittings I needed. Don't remember the price but I'm thinking it was $55? It has paid for itself many times over.Good luck.

StirCrazy

Kamloops, BC, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2003

View Profile



Posted: 03/30/22 06:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I camp at 4500 to 5500 all the time and have never had an issue except once. it was when the main regulater was starting to go bad so it wasnt providing enough pressure to the stove when something else like the fridge was running. the stove did light but it looked bad, thin yellow flames and such. this might not be your issue but worth talking a look at it while your at it.

Steve


2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK
1991 Slumberqueen WS100

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/31/22 11:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Now things have suddenly gotten a bit cloudy. For a week the only issue has been the stove — no gas at all, which made me suspect the regulator at the stove not opening. Now, last night, for the first time the furnace would not stay lit. Beginning to suspect the main regulator at the tank (or both regulators). All this stuff is brand new. Very frustrating.

CharlesinGA

South of Atlanta, Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 01/12/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/31/22 07:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I frequent the Escape Forums and actually do not recall a Dometic stove top mentioned. The Suburban gets lots of mention however.

LOTS of gas devices use a second regulator. My propane powered Onan generator has a very large diaphragm regulator in the housing, but gets its gas from the regulator at the cylinders. Stoves do too.

I carry a portable butane single burner and a electric hot plate with me to cover all possibilities.

I think your question is worthy of some discussion on the Escape forum as you have a lot of people with the same equipment on there.

Charles


'03 Ram 2500 CTD, 5.9HO six speed std cab long bed Leer top and 2008 Bigfoot 25B21RB.. previously (both gone) 2008 Thor/Dutchman Freedom Spirit 180 & 2007 Winnebago View 23H Motorhome.

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/01/22 09:33am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have been talking with Escape. They are interested and willing to be helpful. Dometic has given them the same altitude response. Kids are back to lower elevation and stove is working but the furnace isn't. This will get more discussion on Escape. BTW, it was on the Escape forum that I first discovered the altitude issue with the Dometic D21 cooktop. There has been no final resolution. I resorted to this forum (as I have in the past) because of its larger, diverse brand membership. OTOH, Dometic is widely used. Meanwhile, I've managed to learn exactly how a regulator works, and it is clear that a number of things can affect it. Some "experts" insist that altitude can affect the air/fuell mixture and thus the efficiency of the flame but it does not affect the regulator itself. Others say it can affect the regulator diaphragm since the regulator is not closed to the atmosphere. But clearly atmospheric pressure does affect something more than the flame quality. In this case (and others), there was no gas flow at all, suggesting the regulator had closed due to insufficient pressure on the primary or secondary sides or both.

* This post was edited 04/01/22 11:51am by enahs *

Roger10378

Goodrich, MI.

Senior Member

Joined: 05/29/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 04/01/22 02:13pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A little clarification on pressure readings. When pressure is measured it is normally gauge pressure. That means that it is the difference between atmospheric and supplied pressure. The regulator supplies a set pressure above atmospheric pressure. As atmospheric pressure changes the absolute pressure changes with it but the gauge pressure doesn't.

It isn't the gas pressure that changes with altitude but the amount of Oxygen in the air that changes which causes a rich mixture. The change can cause a less efficient burner but it shouldn't be enough change to keep it from working till much higher elevation.

With this being a new camper I suspect that there is some debris in the system that is causing the problem.


2005 Cardinal 30TS
2007 Chevy 2500HD D/A

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.