RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: No gas to cook top

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/28/22 05:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The cook top is a D21 by Dometic. It is in a new RV. A list of parts shows no other regulator. Let's get technical here. I do not understand what would stop the gas flow to the cooktop but allow it to all other gas appliances. Can anyone explain this? Too, there does not seem to be a central orifice apart from what is in each burner. These are not obstructed. Unit is like new clean!


'07 Chevy 3500 Dooley, CC, LT3, D/A

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 03/28/22 08:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

"Dometic says it is an altitude issue!" This is nonsense, at 5400' Dometic doesn't have a product. Call again, insist on talking to a manager.

Is there a rubber hose unique to the stove top? Does it work again at lower elevation? It's possible something is blocking the propane in the line due to a faulty installation.

FYI RV documentation is known to be incomplete, misleading, generic for something else and downright wrong.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Online
Posted: 03/28/22 08:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

There could also be oil in the line to the stovetop blocking the flow.

Tom_M

New Hope, MN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/24/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/29/22 05:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

According to the installation manual there is an internal regulator. A customer on Amazon stated that they used theirs over 10,000ft.
Link to manual:
https://epi.dometic.com/externalassets/d........ktop_9108917581_71289.pdf?ref=-180670051
[image]


Tom
2005 Born Free 24RB
170ah Renogy LiFePo4 drop-in battery 400 watts solar
Towing 1978 VW Bug convertible
Minneapolis, MN


enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/29/22 04:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dometic expressly told me there's no regulator at the stove. But I was looking at what you are! That's a regulator!

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/29/22 04:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here's the final dometic email!
Good afternoon,

I am sorry to hear you are not happy with your product. Unfortunately, this is a common problem with any gas product at high elevation. Due to the thinner air the gas to air mixture burns differently so we cannot guarantee use at higher elevations.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Consumer Support Team
customersupportcenter@dometic.c

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 05/06/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/29/22 04:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enahs wrote:

Here's the final dometic email!
Good afternoon,

I am sorry to hear you are not happy with your product. Unfortunately, this is a common problem with any gas product at high elevation. Due to the thinner air the gas to air mixture burns differently so we cannot guarantee use at higher elevations.

Wishing you a wonderful day,
Consumer Support Team
customersupportcenter@dometic.c


LOL, not at you, but what a response.
Having spent alot of time at altitude far higher than that. Heck we lived at altitudes thousands of feet higher than mile high. I never began to run into LP altitude issues with things until over 10kft. And honestly, the only real problem I recall was with a Buddy Heater, up hunting.

Being a new camper, I'm more inclined to think its either a blockage in the line to the stove or a defect.
I guess that will vet itself out or not at lower altitude.

PS, that's still just the worst response ever by a mfg. They probably have their stoves in campers at dealers that sit at higher altitude than that!

* This post was edited 03/29/22 05:38pm by an administrator/moderator *


2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29

enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 09:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

So, from a technical point of view, how does the regulator at the stove work and how could it be affected by air pressure? The tank regulator reduces high tank pressure to about 11 psi I believe. Can that be affected by air pressure (I don't see how). Then at the stove regulator, how could air pressure affect that to restrict all gas flow entirely? Of course, air pressure at the burner would affect that regulator. As I've long understood, you must know how it works if you are going to fix it(aside from looking under the hood and jiggling wires!)

RLS7201

Beautyful Downtown Gladstone, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 10/26/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 09:47am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

enahs wrote:

So, from a technical point of view, how does the regulator at the stove work and how could it be affected by air pressure? The tank regulator reduces high tank pressure to about 11 psi I believe. Can that be affected by air pressure (I don't see how). Then at the stove regulator, how could air pressure affect that to restrict all gas flow entirely? Of course, air pressure at the burner would affect that regulator. As I've long understood, you must know how it works if you are going to fix it(aside from looking under the hood and jiggling wires!)


From a technical point of view, the propane gas pressure in a RV is regulated at 11" of "WATER COLUMN" not PSI...........Please don't adjust you own regulator.

Richard


95 Bounder 32H F53
460/528 stroker
Web Master
MWPSchooners.com
First brake job
1941 Hudson


enahs

Washington

Senior Member

Joined: 03/11/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/30/22 10:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, I know that but misspoke. But I am attempting to diagnose the problem. In any adjustment I would use a manometer, Specifically, what does the regulator at the stove do? How is it affected by air pressure? What would shut down the gas to it at high elevation?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 8  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > No gas to cook top
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.