RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 50A RV with 30A plug?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50A RV with 30A plug?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
BurbMan

Indianapolis, IN

Senior Member

Joined: 09/20/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/24/22 07:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our new-to-us 5er is wired for 2 a/c's but only has one installed. The factory installed a ceiling vent in the bedroom, and when you remove the inside trim around the fan you can see the #12 120v wire in the ceiling and there is a 20a breaker in the panel labeled "bedroom a/c". So it looks pretty easy to take out the roof vent and replace with a 2nd a/c unit in the bedroom.

The panel has a 50a main breaker, but the shore cord has a 30a plug on it...is there such a thing as an "adapter cord" that doesn't require a dogbone? Am I correct that all I need to do is replace the shore cord to get 50a to the rig?

Here's the RV end of the shore power cord:
[image]
Now here's the plug end of the shore cord:
[image]
This is connection on the outside of the rig:
[image]
The inside breaker panel:
[image]

On a related note, I'm not sure I want to add a 2nd a/c in the bedroom...we dry camp a fair amount and at least I'll get some air movement with the vent, the a/c blocks that vent spot and the only way to get cold air is to plug in. Thoughts?

Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 07:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Looks to me like you could cut off that 30 amp plug and replace it with a 50 amp plug. There should be 4 wires in there, not 3. You should have NEUTRAL, GROUND, L1, and L2. In your current setup, both L1 and L2 are hooked to the same pin of the 30 amp plug.


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB


KD4UPL

Swoope, VA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/16/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That is a 50 amp RV. Someone is using a 30 amp cord because it's lighter, cheaper, easier to handle, and is probably sufficient for their needs.
If you want 50 amps then a 50 amp cord will be necessary. If you get one I'd keep the 30 amp you have for all the above reasons.

bgum

South Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 07:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What you have is a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter. Your rig is set to use 50 amps. Just obtain a 50 amp power cord for use. Be aware that the 50 amp wire is stiff and heavy. In cold weather they are a hand full. Since you have only one AC 30 amps will meet most of your needs without fighting a big heavy cord. Power management is necessary. You do have several heavy consumers....water heater, fireplace, microwave, AC.

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile



Posted: 04/24/22 07:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sorry but that's not a 50A cable - see how small it is in the second pic? It's a 30A cable that someone put a female 50A plug on. You are not going to be able to change the male 30A side and make it 50A capable.
If you want 50A, you'll need an entirely new cord assembly.

toedtoes

California

Senior Member

Joined: 05/17/2014

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 07:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The cord you have is basically this.

To answer your first question - yes, it is basically an adapter cord so you don't need a dogbone. It is a 50amp female to 30amp male cord.

The prior owner likely had a 30amp outlet at home, or only stayed at places with 30amp pedestals, or as said above chose to buy the cheaper cord since they only had one AC so 50amps wasn't necessary.

To get the use of the full 50amps, all you need to do is get a 50amp m/f cord. If you mostly dry camp then you should be fine using your existing cord. For times with hookups, you should be fine unless you are trying to run multiple high power use appliances like heaters, cooking appliances, hair dryers, etc.


1975 American Clipper RV with Dodge 360 (photo in profile)
1998 American Clipper Fold n Roll Folding Trailer
Both born in Morgan Hill, CA to Irv Perch (Daddy of the Aristocrat trailers)

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 04/24/22 07:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OP has a cord like this Park power
He should be able to purchase a standard 50 amp cord. Like this 50 amp cord


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


rhagfo

Portland, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 08:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bgum wrote:

What you have is a 30 amp to 50 amp adapter. Your rig is set to use 50 amps. Just obtain a 50 amp power cord for use. Be aware that the 50 amp wire is stiff and heavy. In cold weather they are a hand full. Since you have only one AC 30 amps will meet most of your needs without fighting a big heavy cord. Power management is necessary. You do have several heavy consumers....water heater, fireplace, microwave, AC.


Make your own new 50 amp cord go to your local electrical supplier and get the length of 6/4 SOOW cable, and get the correct ends. I carry a 40’ length of this, and easy to handle even in freezing temperatures. My cable coils into a 3 gallon bucket, and is easy to carry.


Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"


BB_TX

McKinney, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 04/04/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/24/22 08:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I bought a 50/30 adapter cord just like that for when we stayed at RV parks or campgrounds that had 30 amp power only. Much easier than fighting the 50 amp cable with a dogbone. But I did also have a 50 amp cable for 50 amp parks and campgrounds.
Keep that one and buy a 50 amp cable. Then you are good for either.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 04/24/22 08:08pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Keep digging in the compartments you may find the original 50 amp cord.
Or call the seller and see if he has it in his garage.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 50A RV with 30A plug?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.